What Would You Say... in These Foolish Things

  • June 18, 2023, 3:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

If I told you I’m resigning from my job on Tuesday?

I can’t deal with the constant INSANE pressure cooker anymore, and my health is taking a hit, but I will be throwing away the biggest salary I’ve ever made.

And what if there are no more jobs out there that are a fit?

I’m so freaking scared.

I need to tell you about the ridiculous business trip I took with Chief Cutie last week. It was laughable and stupid, but the experience was…well, it was kind of story-worthy.

I also need to tell you about how Chief Cutie freaking called me out in front of the whole company about some stupid direction I gave that she didn’t like. It was humiliating and I nearly came back to her and QUIT on the spot, but thought better of it.

I wanted to let her know that my resignation is carefully considered and thought out.

She’s probably going to ask me for something like a 2-month notice or something. I have 3 1/2 weeks notice on my letter right now. I know I’ll be leaving her in a bind, so I want to be fair, but FUCK. I need OUT.

There are not a lot of jobs for what I do here in [my new city], but I guess I’m going to have faith that I will land somewhere a million, trillion times better.

I miss you,
GS


Phade June 18, 2023

When I see a toxic one sided relationship, what I've ALWAYS said has been, 'don't set yourself on fire to keep someone else warm'.

Just my two cents for you in relation to chief cutie or the company itself because either way I think it still fits.

plushcreep June 18, 2023

I say follow your gut, and it's clear what that is telling you. Good luck!

ninakir88 June 18, 2023

I’d say good for you because she sounds like a terrible person

CharminglyNeurotic June 18, 2023 (edited June 19, 2023)

Edited

I'd say DO IT! I'd also suggest you calmly write out all the reasons, in the most professional manner so don't seem like you are doing this rashly, emotionally or out of spite. Give her an exit interview she will never forget - but also that may actually help her and her future staff. I WISH she'd fire you first so you could at least try to get some sort of severance, unemployment or compensation. Do you think she is reasonable enough to allow you to make some deal that you help her interview, train, etc. if she allows you to then collect or work as a freelancer at home for a month or two? To cushion both of your blows from your departure?

Perpetually Plump June 18, 2023

Who cares if you're leaving her in a bind. It's a bind of her own making. She has made this company the toxic shit hold it it is, and she has made it the pressure cooker that it is. And she is the one driving away all of the employees. It's a situation of her own making! But I'm glad that you are getting out. Well, I'm not glad that you're giving up the job, because it was such a hard slog for you to get this one, and you were so excited about it. But it sucks that the damn thing didn't work out.

.allison. Perpetually Plump ⋅ June 18, 2023

exactly- you're not leaving her in a bind, she IS the bind.

bobbi01 June 18, 2023

Thank goodness. I bet you are already feeling lighter. You owe her nothing - don't worry about leaving her in the lurch, she is the author of her own demise.

J.E. June 18, 2023

Good luck!

Nash June 18, 2023

I would have left some time ago. Good for you.

Complicated Disaster June 18, 2023

Do it! Toxic workplaces are so destructive to your life! Just make sure you are very clear about why your are making the decision! Good luck! 🥰🥰 Xx

Amaryllis June 18, 2023

Hugs. I admire your bravery.

I'm an Okking Fool June 18, 2023

Yes! Getting out of there will be so much better for you!

colder June 19, 2023

Congrats! You did a brave thing here, and you're about to do another. We know you'll be ok, whether it's straight into something else that's great or it's the summer of ginger!

We will all be waiting to see how this plays out!

Deleted user June 19, 2023

It's a good decision. But I wouldn't give her any more than two weeks' notice unless I really needed the money, especially after she embarrassed you in front of the whole company. As others have said, she put herself in this bind.

Jinn June 19, 2023 (edited June 19, 2023)

Edited

Can you make her fire you ? Then at least you could get unemployment . It’s not great money but it will help while you are looking for a new job. She sounds like such a hot head that you could probably bait her into letting you go . Later you could lodge a harassment complaint against her . That way you can explain your exit as being a personality clash, which it basically is. It looks better than just resigning and explains being fired. Just a thought !
Good luck, whatever you do. You have to guard your health . ❤️

sudare June 19, 2023

Your mental/physical health is priority no. 1!

pandora June 19, 2023

Your well-being really is too important and cannot be bought. You have a new bar now on salary to work towards and there are other companies willing to pay you your value without also abusing you!

echopod June 19, 2023

Ya just gotta quit before something worse happens. And trust that universe to provide. I’m not That Person at all, but for jobs, the next best thing is out there if what you have isn’t working out, and I wish I had known that sooner.

At Last June 19, 2023

Good for you! No job or salary is worth your mental or physical health. Something better is waiting.

kansasgirl June 20, 2023

What an awful position to be in. You know what you can handle and you've worked far past what I even would have been able to manage. Kudos to making it this far and to know when you need to start drawing boundaries. Your health is more important!

Serin June 24, 2023

I'd say, good. It hasn't sounded like a healthy situation as you describe it.

Would you consider longer notice if you were free to work from home?

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.