Stay in your lane. in Bittersweet

  • May 12, 2023, 11:55 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Stayin your lane has been going through my head so much…
Today in the managers meeting it was brought up on how to flex PTO. Basically if a therapist meets their 30 hours of productivity a week they can do WTF ever for the other 10 hours and get paid for it. Leave. Go home early, go to appointments whatever.

And its been brought up and tossed around a few times. And today I finally asked. Is there any way to make that equitable for all staff members. As equity is something CEO has pushed… She told me I knew you would bring that up and no. And clinical director said yeah your staff is a different classification of staff member.

Oh ok.

They then continued with you are hourly so it dosent work.... When i SHOULD have said was yeah and 3 months ago when we were salaried, what would have been the reason? You talk about equality and appreciation, and now you are going to ANNOUNCE in your damn weekly updates that staff memebers can now flex time if you meet productivity and once again, just like the 1k raises last month, my team is going to come and say we get to do this? And i get to say no, we dont qualifiy. Did I write about the raise thing? She gave raises in 2022 1K to everyone, and then again she announced it, 1k raises to everyone, IN THE huge weekly update. And my people came to me and asked. and I had to say no, biller because her position got a raise right before she started. It was 17 and they raised it to 18. The receptionists because she hired me on at 15, and then them on at 16, so they got a “raise” before they started. She bumped me to 18 when I took over as OM, and then to 20 when i found a way to save her thousands a year. Which ive done multiple times.

And im mad. Like im mad. You talk about being equitable with the team. It dosent work to buy so and so this because its not equitable. But giving perks, That dosent count. Much like she wont pay into health insurance for office staff. But she told me she will for me when i loose insurance if I want to sign up, but dont tell my team because she cant for them.... She values us, but its surface value. Its have a bbq and thank you cards value. Its buy us flowers for administrative professional day…
I know my boss is a good boss, like my work is good. I do a lot, its varied, its easy in many ways. I flex when I need to. But i really feel like im reeling from this one.
When one of our employees was having issues accessing our payroll and getting his paystub, I started emailing it thim. And she announced in the weekly update that I did that and if anyone else wanted it to let me know I would email them theirs too. To be equitable. She refuses to buy things for people because she would have to ask everyone if they want one too. Diffusers are ok, Chair pads are ok. Standing desks are not lol. But its equitable…
Apperently job perks are not meant to be equitable.
The director literally said we were a different classification of employee. The kind who keeps you in sessions so you get paid.
There are tiers, there is a hierarchy and they just put us on the bottom of it…
We arent just receptionists.
We audit.
We do billing,
we handle all these different aspects for them like calling all their cancelationions.


Jinn May 12, 2023

It’s the same in most businesses . The people at the top get paid better and have the best benefits. The workers are paid less and given less. It’s not fair or kind but it’s human nature for too many people , to naturally exploit the people they can in a work situation. :-(

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ May 13, 2023

I know. I guess I had this whole idea of all the make things equitable that gets pushed at me. That things would move in that direction....

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ May 13, 2023

:-(

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.