Suggestion Box, July (it's too hot) Edition in Suggestion Box

  • July 19, 2014, 12:17 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Because, ya know, you want stuff and such.


Comments are closed.
PepperGrape July 19, 2014

It is too hot, ugh.

Any update on importing entries from saved OD to PB? I ask because my husband asked me today when he had his heart surgery. Where is that info? In my OD. I used to just skiddaddle through my entries to locate whatever date he needed and am really missing that ability. For medical forms, you know ;)

ThisIsME PepperGrape ⋅ July 19, 2014

I do the same. Would love to see this feature as well

Gangleri July 19, 2014

A way to search your own entries and/or comments.

Teflon Superhero Gangleri ⋅ July 19, 2014

YES! I have ARGUMENTS to settle! lol

Deleted user Gangleri ⋅ July 19, 2014

Great idea!

QueSeraSera Gangleri ⋅ July 19, 2014

I agree good idea !

Teflon Superhero July 19, 2014

too hot?? HAHAHAH It was 65 degrees here today! THANK YOU WILD COLD FRONT!

We'll be back to our regularly scheduled ball sweating by the end of the week, I'm sure. I'll think of something then xD

simple mind Teflon Superhero ⋅ July 20, 2014

Send that cold front my way... I'm sick of 90s and 100s!

Who's Laughing Now? July 19, 2014

When you change your diary "theme", only you can see it. I'd like it so that everyone's theme/layout/whatever is visible to all. My diary is dark and brooding and has an R rating, and as such needs to be read in appropriate atmosphere. It's just not the same reading my writing with a pink background or whatever, yo.

Nash July 19, 2014

There was implemented and quickly withdrawn an RC kind of feature?

You are doing a terrific job by the way.

Deleted user July 19, 2014

  • Current author / Current book navigation at top and bottom of page, not in the left sidebar

  • Default entry title to the date.

  • XML/plaintext backups by book and by author; optionally including comments

  • Community books with entries that are links to entries in member diaries (for Flash Friday & other group writing)

  • Your ideas about gamification: it's time!

  • Entry tagging

  • Ability to mark entries as "unread" manually

  • Side-by-side Markdown/Preview editor

  • Ability to suppress autoembedding of videos

  • Ability to embed soundfiles and video from Photobucket

As is, the site is clean, wonderful, reliable, and fun to use. You're a genius. Thank you so much!

Deleted user July 19, 2014

  • Oh, and calendar view or chronological listing for all entries by an author.
*Mrs_Bolen* Deleted user ⋅ July 19, 2014

Calander view!!! Loved that clicking a year and month and reading all that months entries!

sparkyray Deleted user ⋅ July 21, 2014

Seconding (infinity-ing) calendar view!

moneypenny Deleted user ⋅ July 22, 2014

I loved and deeply miss OD's calendar view. Would love to have this feature here!

Kate July 19, 2014

Hi. I'm hanging out but not writing much. Enjoying the improvements.

When I was looking into doing an alternate site, I had a FB group dedicated to brainstorming ideas. Here, you can have them now. (Some have already been addressed--yippee!)

An "I read this button," similar to the like button on Facebook. Diary stats, with the ability to see who has read your diary (by diary name, with the option to read incognito as well.) Search notes, and search entire site by key word or phrase (an option to exclude your diary from search) In-line spell checker - DONE! Automatic "reply to" this note - DONE! Comment threading (optional) - DONE! Improved graphics handling - Haven't tried it, trust you. Personalized a message with Favorites request Better indexing, tagging of other diarists (when allowed), and suggested tags for entries

Thanks!

ThoughtsAfter Kate ⋅ July 20, 2014

I have wished for a LIKE button, too.

Kate July 19, 2014

That was supposed to be a list. Sorry.

MaggieTheCat Kate ⋅ July 19, 2014

My suggestion is that when you make a list that it shows up in a list.

For instance, pressing Enter means start a new line. I always forget my < br >!!

simple mind MaggieTheCat ⋅ July 19, 2014

Markdown makes lists pretty easy, just precede each line item with an asterisk and space (for bullets) or a number, period, and space for numbered lists.

  • Lists are cool
  • and they're great
MaggieTheCat simple mind ⋅ July 19, 2014

That is awesome, however, most of my 'lists' are actually conversations so I don't want numbers or asterisks. :/

But thanks for the very quick response!!

simple mind MaggieTheCat ⋅ July 19, 2014

Ah. Well you can still avoid <br> by just adding two spaces at the end of the line before hitting Enter.

MaggieTheCat simple mind ⋅ July 19, 2014

Me: Let's see if this works.
Me: I won't know until I post the note.
Me: I'm having a conversation with myself.
Me: There is no one else here to participate in this conversation.
Ryan: Great.

MaggieTheCat simple mind ⋅ July 19, 2014

IT WORKED!!!

shnooze MaggieTheCat ⋅ July 20, 2014

yay!

ThoughtsAfter simple mind ⋅ July 20, 2014

Hey, thanks for that

MemoryFails July 19, 2014

The only thing I can think of is maybe Reader's Choice?

TellTaleHeart July 19, 2014

A search feature so you can find an old entry about such-and-such easily.

The ability to mark an entry as unread so it doesn't disappear from the default bookmarks list.

Thanks for all you do!

Deleted user TellTaleHeart ⋅ July 19, 2014

Good ideas.

Deleted user July 19, 2014

People need to stop trying to make this like OD. I HATED OD. Most did. If you want a diary site like OD, head over to EWS'. As far as I know, his website is up. This is Prosebox. Not OD. When will you people get that?

Anyways, it'd be nice to be able to have a page of new users with a random button of some sort to find different diaries. Not just ones that have posted up recently.

middle age pearl July 19, 2014

This is a test to see if I can edit my comment.

middle age pearl July 19, 2014

Nope, so requesting the option to edit comments that we leave.

Thanks

Deleted user middle age pearl ⋅ July 20, 2014

For now you can delete your comment and then add it again, the same as you did on OD.

Everything Good Rebecca July 19, 2014

The only thing I consistently miss is the ability to search in my own books. I used to use my OD as a family journal/calendar of sorts and looked up important dates to remember when we adopted our oldest cat, for instance. I wish I had a search ability in my own profile. Does that make sense?

ThoughtsAfter Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ July 20, 2014

I second that.

Daisy Mae Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ July 20, 2014

Would definitely like this feature.

Deleted user Everything Good Rebecca ⋅ July 20, 2014

It makes sense & I'd like that, too.

One thing you can do right now is download your book and then use your favorite editor to search within the book---probably a good idea to download a fresh copy now and then anyway, and it's no problem to double click on it and search---

RosesAreRed July 19, 2014

What about having the age of the diarist show up - and optional?

patrisha RosesAreRed ⋅ July 22, 2014

Yes, I feel foolish having to mention all the time that I am 80 but it IS an important thing to know about me...

Deleted user July 19, 2014

Search feature and customized backgrounds, please. :)

Deleted user July 19, 2014

Spell check and a way to make our backgrounds change on every entry - I would also like to decorate my wall more :) Like a page

The Thirsty Oriental July 20, 2014

I'm sure it's been discussed before, but I'd like to be able to reply to comments from the comments screen, instead of having to go back to the post.

I second the Reader's Choice and Random settings. It'd make me spend a lot more time on PB, which is not a bad thing...

I need tea. July 21, 2014

It would be cool to be able to search for users by where they are from. I like the autonomous though so maybe not towns or county/states but like Europe, USA, Canada, China, etc etc

BentnotBroken July 21, 2014

French toast and sausage please. Sausage patties,not the little ones that look like mutant ninja turtle dicks. And raspberries. And powdered sugar. Sigh.......

patrisha BentnotBroken ⋅ July 22, 2014

LOL

sparkyray July 21, 2014

Besides the calendar feature I already voted for, I'd love to be able to change the privacy level of an entry from the entry itself.

Naked Goblin July 22, 2014

When you click the bookmarks link, I think the default should be "All", not "Unread". It's difficult to remember to look back for entries that you've already read and put a comment on later if they don't show up in teh default list and jog your memory.

patrisha Naked Goblin ⋅ July 22, 2014

Yes, I agree...

patrisha July 22, 2014

It is a small thing but I would love to have the underline ability...

Deleted user patrisha ⋅ July 22, 2014

If you type <u>underline this</u> in an entry, the words "underline this" will be underlined.

It doesn't work in notes, but it will in an entry.

hot-lips July 23, 2014

I would also like to save my previous OD entries onto here, I understand no one may want to read them, it's just for myself mainly. Also, when browsing through previous entries - OD used to have a calendar with the entry titles. Can this or something similar be added so we don't have to go through every book/entry manually if searching for something?

EvequeFou July 23, 2014

Currently, you can leave comments on someone's entries, but if you don't have access to any of their entries, there's no way to communicate. I don't know what this would look like -- private messages, comments on the profile page, or a special "would like access" message path, maybe. There are some of my friends from OD that I can't read, and I assume *grin* that's because I have a different name here and they just don't know I'm the same charming person they previously gave access to.

Reading_Blankie 📚 July 27, 2014

I'm kinda a blog freak and like to see what I write the most. You know on livejournal and other related sites where you have a tag doohickey where you tagged your entries and the most tagged becomes larger?

  • maybe a e-mail password retrieval thingie? I'm a ham sometimes and change my password and... whoopsie... forgot it.

    I probably have other ideas, but the pizza hubby just brought home has my attention. :D

  • simple mind Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ July 27, 2014

    There's a Forgot Password link on the login page already that does exactly that.

    Reading_Blankie 📚 simple mind ⋅ July 27, 2014

    ooooohhh. hehe. I see that now!!

    Reading_Blankie 📚 July 27, 2014

    oh, and for the record the temps here at home were 117 degrees this week

    simple mind Reading_Blankie 📚 ⋅ July 27, 2014

    I'm in Utah where we have three straight months of high 90s and low 100s. that is bad enough that we're considering moving to the Pacific Northwest. 117 sounds like hell, literally.

    Reading_Blankie 📚 simple mind ⋅ July 27, 2014

    I'm in Arizona. It is hell, and yet for some reason every family member here stays. Though the cost of living is <u>really good</u> and the winters are fab-ul-ous--- even with the snowbirds!! Right now though we are in a so called, "monsoon season" where we most likely get dust storms(oddly called "haboobs" if they are big enough-- no lying here), odd humidity and dirty cars. I've thought of moving but hubby would never go for it.

    Deleted user July 27, 2014

    a no comments options please

    Mercurial Muse Deleted user ⋅ July 28, 2014

    Yes a ndseconded.

    Crystal July 31, 2014

    I don't know if anyone's said this previously, I kind of scanned through it, but it would be nice to give people different levels or categories of friendship. I know some people who are on my friends list, have no desire to read about my attempts at weight loss. I don't want to remove them as friends, but I also don't want those entries to show up on their list as they're not going to read them anyway...

    EvequeFou July 31, 2014

    And corollary to the previous comment, some of the writers I have bookmarked post things I couldn't care less about. Thankfully, they're courteous enough to put those in a separate book.

    You had previously mentioned being able to bookmark an author minus certain books -- I'd really like to see that show up.

    *Amour De Bebe* August 03, 2014

    Some kind'a HTML help :) Like changing the font and what not. Also individual entries could be set to private instead of who books. So far, I really like it here.

    Comments are closed.