Well - how is today? in These titles mean nothing.

  • Feb. 28, 2023, 12:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sunny

Basement is drying up.

I’m way behind on walking.

==================

Jim and I went to Decorah last night to buy groceries at Walmart. I had a lovely talk with a young woman from SE Asia - Malaysia I think she said. She checked me out and did a lovely job. We discussed climate and world tilt and I mentioned my online friends in Australia and New Zealand and my lovely fellow workers at my old job who were from the Philippines. I said in reference to the world itself that there are people who believe the world is flat and she said - yes, they have a convention in Colorado and I said I guess we won’t go, will we? and she said she might go if the food was good.

Honest that happened. I need to format it a bit. Made my Walmart grocery shopping seem really kind of magical.

I wrote my letter to Katie. Jim is mailing it on his trip to Decorah TODAY for another session of his dental adventures. He’s taking the Ice Cream Truck whose power steering is iffy. I’m to listen for the phone so I can come rescue him if he decides to leave it somewhere. Hopefully to have it fixed. He talked to Larre yesterday and got advice but did not make definite arrangements.

I might go back to bed. My room faces south and west and the light comes in the windows nicely.

One of my friends, one of our friends, posted the Lovesong of J. Alfred Prufrock yesterday. Thomas Stearn Eliot. It’s beautiful. Familiar and distant like the flat earth society meeting in Colorado. I read it out loud to myself and Jim and the animals. He said it was about not having regrets about life. It might be.

https://www.poetryfoundation.org/poetrymagazine/poems/44212/the-love-song-of-j-alfred-prufrock

I may read it every day until I die. Thank you Dana.

==================

I forgot to look at a cheap camera at Walmart. I so miss taking and posting photos.
I also forgot to look at cheap bookcases. I have two places to put them, one on either side of the living room windows. To hell with furniture.

I didn’t go to the library book sale last week. I don’t think I’ve been there since before Christmas, when both Christmas and Thanksgiving interfered with regular third Thursday dates of sales. I have bought books of course since then but the library sale is a nice place to get more. Third Thursday of March is one its way. Always. Another month.

I watched two sweet movies on youtube last night. First was called ‘Watercolor Postcards ‘about a dying town in west Texas. People died too. Second was called ‘The Etruscan Smile’ about an old, also dying man from Scotland who visits his son in San Francisco. Both were beautiful simple little movies. Both made me feel good.

I’ve been spending time with minimalist people on youtube. My favorite is the A to Zen lady who lives in Germany with her husband who is from China and their two sons. She has a crispness that I like. There are minimalist guys too. Who knew? I like the guy with the Italian name who cuts his own hair and aspires to changing the oil in his car.

I’m seeing that some of my own minimalist ideas are not all that uncommon. So far though there’s no one who fills empty milk jugs to with water from the bathtub to use to water houseplants.

Love you all. Happiness to you. Thanks for stopping ‘round.

=====

What would flat earth cuisine be like? All I can think of is pancakes.


Last updated February 28, 2023


gattaca February 28, 2023

What would flat earth cuisine be like?
Tortillas. :-)

Lady of the Bann February 28, 2023

Interacting with strangers can make times magical.
I would like to think that when I interact with strangers, I make that happen for them.

Just Annie March 01, 2023

I don't think I'm a minimalist, but I definitely am not a maximalist. Too much stuff makes me itchy!

woman in the moon Just Annie ⋅ March 02, 2023

I'm not a very good minimalist, but I like the thought process. There's such a variety of people posting on youtube that it's just kind of fun to make comparisons. I suppose someone could make videos about the videos.

NorthernSeeker March 01, 2023

It is especially nice to find a cashier with a good personality at WalMart...but I'm guessing your store is friendlier. Are your writing groups dormant for the winter season? Flat Earth cuisine would be two dimensional (snort). You are one of the few people I know who seek out poetry to read. I like things to be clear and I don't care if the language is really pretty if I can't figure out it's meaning.

noko March 01, 2023

Monty Don using washing up water for his houseplants. I have on occasion saved bathwater in a bucket to use for other purposes but I do keep a big bucket in the shower to get at least one extra toilet flush in.

woman in the moon noko ⋅ March 02, 2023

I didn't know about Monty Don. Looks like someone I could spend some on=line time with.

I hate waiting for jugs to fill under the faucet. Using the tub is more exciting and borderline quicker.

Jinn March 03, 2023

I will never be a minimalist but I would like to be.

Serin March 09, 2023

I only reached the desire to be a minimalist after I got too much stuff.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.