Detroit, why hast thou forsaken me? in Not All Who Wander Are Lost

  • Jan. 16, 2023, 10:22 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

It seems like every time I plan a trip to Detroit, something goes horribly wrong. Wanna drive to Royal Oak to see a movie not playing around my city? Oh there’s going to be a blizzard on your way home. Going to see your favorite podcast? You’re gonna get a migraine halfway through, and also a drunk guy is gonna breathe alcohol breath all over you and be so obnoxiously loud that the podcasters will literally stop the show to yell at him to shut the fuck up. Josh and I have planned dinners in Detroit exactly three times - the first time I was in the hospital that night, the second time was right when covid hit and everything in Michigan closed down, and the third time his dad freaking DIED. Like literally on the day we were supposed to go. I was dressed and everything.

So I don’t know why I thought this past weekend would be any different. We were going to get there early, hit a few pubs, go to a fancy schmancy dinner, see a Red Wings games, and then go to this ultra hip cocktail bar where the cheapest drinks are like $35. I’m not super into staying out late so Josh got us a hotel room so that I could just sneak back there whenever I got tired. Which, good thing he got the hotel room because halfway through our first pub I started getting a migraine. Nary a Tylenol or Excedrin could be found and by the time we got to our fancy schmancy dinner I was shaking and knew I was heading toward Pukesville. I apologized profusely to everyone else that we were at dinner with and hightailed it back to the hotel room where I promptly threw up the entire contents of my stomach, cried in the shower, then laid down. I was hoping I could rally in time to make it to the hockey game but my head would not stop pounding and I felt like garbage. It sucked. I’m glad Josh was with friends at least so his evening was not entirely ruined and he did have a good time. He felt bad for me and I felt bad for him so all in all not the greatest Saturday I’ve had in my life. I just need to stop trying to make Detroit happen. I offered to pay Josh back for the ticket at least but he told me not to worry about it. He’s the literal best.

Sunday was actually kind of nice, though. 13 y/o had spent the night at the house with a friend, who is the daughter of my ex husbands ex girlfriend. I need to write an entry about that entire fucked up situation soon. There’s just. So much. But ex husbands ex girlfriend’s daughter legit calls me mom and has asked to move in with me on more than one occasion. I feel for the girl, trust, but also, I cannot handle any more kids. Also her mom is psycho. More on that later. We got home fairly early in the day and the house wasn’t a complete disaster which was a plus. I made some beef stew for our lunches this week, did some laundry, cleaned/organized the kitchen, and tidied up the living room and dining room. 13 y/o went to stay with ex husband since she didn’t have school today, so Josh and I got into bed at like 6:30 and watched movies until bedtime, which is honestly my favorite way to spend any evening. Cozy in bed with the boyfriend and the cats.

This week should be pretty chill. Our city does a “coffee quest” where you visit all the participating coffee shops in the area and get a stamp, and if you visit 20 of them you get a t-shirt. Probably the most expensive t-shirt I’ve ever purchased but it’s fun to get to different coffee shops I’d probably never have visited otherwise. Bestie and I are planning to meet up at a couple today after I get off work. Other than that, notta lotta going on. Going to enjoy the calm after the storm that was December. A bientot, mes amies.

+min


Mr. Mofo January 16, 2023

Is Greektown still a big thing in Detroit? I remember A LOT of victorian era houses in Detroit that seemed abandoned.

Minuete Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 16, 2023

As far as I know it is! I'm not a big gambler so I've never been but I know people who've gone recently. Parts of Detroit are definitely sketchy and scary but we tend to stick to the main downtown strip. Lots of restaurants and bars to go to.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.