Homeless in These Foolish Things

  • Jan. 8, 2023, 5:14 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Time for a super quick update from the road!

Where did I last leave off? I think I’m gonna have to bullet this bitch.

  • Remember my apartment flooded on Christmas Eve. I saw that as a clear sign that I needed to make a move. A HUGE sign for a BIG move.

  • During that time, I was already in negotiations for a job with a company in a city three hours away. They had already sent me an offer letter and I’d countered and I was waiting for a response back when the flood hit. What timing! What a smack in the face!

  • Christmas came and I discussed the possible move with my family. They were much more excited than I thought they’d be! It was like permission to take this opportunity and run with it. I’d only be a little over an hour and a half further drive away, and I feel good about my bro and SiL living in the same house in case anything happens. It was such a relief knowing that they felt great about it.

  • After some more back-and-forth, accepted the offer and negotiations with my apartment about me getting out of my lease penalty-free due to the flood began. Those negotiations were just as intense as the job negotiations! Why are these situations so hard for me? I’ve always been told that I’m a tough negotiator, and I think I’ve gotten better over the years, but they still cause a lot of stress for some reason.

  • The packing began. The packing was made even more difficult by the fact that I’d picked up a cold during all of this. I also noted that I had so much more STUFF in the Treehouse than I’d had at my little downtown apartment. I’d essentially furnished the whole place since I’d gotten rid of much of my furniture downtown and I had a lot of other shit to lug around. Question to myself as an afterthought: why am I carrying around boxes of cancer shit? I don’t need that stuff. I did finally take my emergency chemo clean-up bag to one of those drug drop-off places, but I kept a lot of paperwork that I’ll never, EVER go back and read.

  • I stayed up all night on Thursday, sick as a dog and packing my little heart out.

  • Movers took FOR-EV-ER!!!

  • But during all of this I finally got the official approval to break the lease. I signed the paperwork as the movers packed all my stuff up. That was a BIG relief and will save me about $8K during the move. However, the move itself is going to be more expensive than I thought due to excess shit. In the end, it’s not going to matter because my new company is going to be paying for this move, but because the company is small, I still have to do all of the upfront shit and keep track of it all.

  • And once the movers left, I looked around the Treehouse and just sobbed. I’ve never been so attached to a place before. I cried harder for the loss of that space and place than I have for the loss of loves. I know that the reason is because I put so much of my heart and soul into making the Treehouse a place of comfort and peace. I moved during cancer treatment. I made it a beautiful refuge. I recovered from chemo-sick on the sofa with rays of sunshine beaming in from the big windows. I had friends and family come stay. I healed there.

  • And it all ended so abruptly. Again, a bold sign to make a bold move.

  • And now, homeless. But not in a scary way - in an adventure way! I’m typing from a hotel room that my insurance company secured for me. I am considered “displaced” due to the flood and termination of my lease. I have been sleeping for a good day and a half and will get up after I finish this entry, shower, walk the dog, meet a friend for coffee, and then head down the road to [my new city] to continue the search for my next version of the Treehouse.

  • It’s a LOT, I know, but ready or not, here I come!!

GS


selling the drama January 08, 2023

What a roller coaster!

colder January 08, 2023

Cheers for a good adventure!

a girl thinking January 08, 2023

So good to hear from you! It's been a lot 😬❤️

Fred January 08, 2023

Such a lot but ultimately all good! Tell us about the new job!

sudare January 08, 2023

What an adventure! Flood is awful, but I like the way you see your life. It sounds similar to my current situation in terms of accommodation. I am like a nomad with a minimum clothes in my car at the moment. But my gadgets, internet connections and lovely coffee keep me sane. Good luck with your new job!

IpsoFacto January 08, 2023

I’m really so happy for you. You were determined and tenacious and just kept on forging ahead you’re my heroine.

echopod January 08, 2023

Wow! So exciting though!

WhatDreamsMayCome January 08, 2023

May all doors be open for you going forward (and fewer “signs/flooding” be so blatant!).

bobbi01 January 08, 2023

Everything is 100% harder when you don't feel well. I agree the tree house set you free for the next adventure. Fingers crossed for somewhere as cool to live.

.allison. January 08, 2023

i can't wait to see what's next!

Ginger Snap .allison. ⋅ January 09, 2023

Meeee tooooo!! ❤️

Lux Lunae January 08, 2023

Congratulations on the job and the move. I'm so happy for you. Sad that you have to leave the tree house but in a way I think the flood was needed so you'd know it was ok to go. Can't wait to hear about your next steps!

Ginger Snap Lux Lunae ⋅ January 09, 2023

I think you're right. Maybe I just needed this kind of "permission"? Great perspective, thank you.

Amaryllis January 08, 2023

I love this. Moving is bittersweet. I'm thankful to have learned that I can be happy in new places; leaving a happy place is easier with this knowledge 💛

Ginger Snap Amaryllis ⋅ January 09, 2023

Oh, I love how you look at it. Thank you.

Athena January 08, 2023

Life really launched you into something fresh.

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ January 09, 2023

Truly did!

Mr. Mofo January 08, 2023

I wish I could have your energy and viewpoints. I would just be cranky and here you are all positive.

Ginger Snap Mr. Mofo ⋅ January 09, 2023

I'm not all positive, but I do find that positivity works better for me than the alternative.

Nash January 08, 2023

Onward and upward.

Ginger Snap Nash ⋅ January 09, 2023

Exactly that!!

plushcreep January 08, 2023

I was going to be very annoyed on your behalf if they didn't let you break your lease penalty-free!

Complicated Disaster January 08, 2023

I'm loving how you've grabbed this opportunity and are running with it! Hopefully your new town will up the ante with the apartments! Xx

Ginger Snap Complicated Disaster ⋅ January 09, 2023

I'm now right in the middle of the apartment hunt. I haven't found THE ONE yet...but I have to work to make myself open to it.

Complicated Disaster Ginger Snap ⋅ January 10, 2023

Good luck!! xx

Deleted user January 08, 2023

Wow, what a ride! Sorry to hear about the flood. I can relate to loving an apartment enough to grieve it. But CONGRATULATIONS on the new job and this exciting new chapter of your life!

Ginger Snap Deleted user ⋅ January 09, 2023

It's a lot right now, but I'm holding on for this ride!

And THANK YOU!!

Parliament January 09, 2023

I'm glad I got the chance to see the Treehouse. It was beautiful and I know you loved it. On to the next chapter! Love you!

Ginger Snap Parliament ⋅ January 09, 2023

I'm so glad you did too! I'm excited about the next iteration of the place I call home.

Firebabe January 09, 2023

ADVENTURRRRREEEEEEE!

Ginger Snap Firebabe ⋅ January 09, 2023

BIG adventure!

Serin January 11, 2023

If the place was a good home, the grief seems like a fair repayment for what it gave you. Lets the place know it did good.

Ginger Snap Serin ⋅ January 12, 2023

This is such a great way of looking at it, thank you for that perspective.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.