Question in Public.

  • Oct. 25, 2022, 4:41 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So the photographer for our at home reception hasn’t sent the pictures yet.
This last Saturday marked 6 weeks. I know SOME photographers take longer but her contract states 6 weeks.

Last time I talked her to her (2 weeks after the reception) she said she was just so swamped but should have my pics to me “in a few weeks” (which would have been a few weeks ago).

I said I was going to reach out to her but basically everyone is telling me I shouldn’t yet. I mean I guess I could give it another week but I also don’t feel like I should have to. She’s on FB today posting about more holiday minis sessions she’s planning which just annoyed me more. I understand that she has a business she has to continue to run but maybe don’t make promises (and contracts) that you can’t keep.

I mean it’s not DIRE that I have these ASAP but it’s more so the idea? If she messaged me and said, “HEY IM RUNNING A LITTLE BEHIND” - okay cool. But her communication has continued to just SUCK SO HARD since a week before the reception.

I want them just to have them (and be able to print what I want for who I want) but also because I want to use them for the thank you cards and that’s my second to last thing wedding related to do and I just want to be DONE with wedding stuff.

So - if you were me
Would you message or just give it more time?

Am I showing my post-wedding bridezilla-ness? Lol.


sedentary October 25, 2022

If her contract states 6 weeks and then you should have them. And if you Really need them, you should ask for them.
If you don't need them today maybe you should email her with a date - like, I was hoping to have them today but I really need them by ??/??/22 for my thank you cards.

irate velociraptor October 25, 2022

I would wait. Photography is like anything else, you want good service, you might have to wait. Editing takes a long time to get everything just right, and she's not just doing your photos, she likely has weddings every weekend, plus trash the dress shoots, engagement shoots, etc. It's a lot of work seeing what really goes into it. It took me a long time to get mine, but what I got was quality.

If it takes a long, long time, feel free to enquire, but she has let you know she's swamped, I would give her the benefit of the doubt and wait patiently. Any communication is just a delay in your work getting done.

Lunchbox October 25, 2022

I would totally reach out. She said 6 weeks. There's no harm in asking.

JustSurviveSomehow October 25, 2022

I would probably wait a week, but I would do so while silently raging. I'm always afraid that people will be annoyed with me, even when it's something that they're in the wrong about. So that being said, I am team Reach Out in this situation. I watch a lot of Judge Judy. A contract is a contract. What if you were too swamped to pay her within the time frame allowed in the contract? I'm guessing she wouldn't just give it another week because you said you were busy.

SilentEcho October 28, 2022

For sure if give her a smidge more time but maybe drop a line that contract says 6 weeks, it's been 6, you need them but you don't need to state why, that's your business. If for sure be reviewing her and rightly so.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.