I'M The Idiot? in These Foolish Things

  • Aug. 28, 2022, 1:01 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was walking Martini the other afternoon and was at the end of the walk and back to the apartment building. I was about to walk through the parking garage to get to the stairwell closest to my apartment. It’s a little bit of a shortcut.

There happened to be a couple with a big, snarly-looking dog standing over by the entrance to the parking garage. The owner pulled the dog tight with a prong collar and the big shar pei mix (I think) growled at Martini. The owner said something like, “yeah, he’s friendly” and I raised my eyebrows and pulled Martini over to the side, putting myself between the snarly dog and Martini.

As I walked past, the owner shook his head and said, “idiot” not quite under his breath. It was clear he wanted me to hear.

I called back and asked, “Did you just call me an idiot?!” and he said yeah. I asked WHY and he said it was because of my reaction. He was already walking the other direction and I guess I should have just let it go, but I called after him, “what was it about my reaction?” and he said something I couldn’t quite make out, but before long we were yelling at each other while we both walked away from each other!

It was so weird and uncomfortable, but I will say this: if you have a dog that is pulling hard on his prong collar and I can see that you’re straining to keep your dog under control, I’M GOING TO HAVE A REACTION. And that reaction will be a part of keeping both myself and my dog SAFE.

Did I tell you about the guy with the Rottweiler who lets him off-leash in the park (adjacent The Treehouse) to get his exercise? Now, this dog is actually an amazingly beautiful creature and he’s very well trained, but I prefer to enjoy watching them do their workouts from the safety of the Treehouse balcony.

But one day I was walking Martini, as I do, and I could see the dog and the dude close to the path, so I picked up Martini and held her tight and the dude got SO OFFENDED that I did that. He said, “This dog is well trained - I paid very good money to make sure this dog will obey.”

And I said, “That’s fine and good, but you never know what might happen.”

And he huffed and he puffed like I was the asshole in this scenario.

I’m sorry. Once again, either leash your dog or take your dog to an off-leash park or an open field where there are no other creatures. Martini is an 8-pound dainty but mighty girl and can hold her own with some big pooches, but she still looks like a squirrel/snack to other dogs!

I’ve heard too many stories of big dog/little dog situations gone awry. And in fact, I heard fairly recently that big ol’ Rotty was off-leash and bitten pretty seriously in the leg by a Pitty (another breed I will react defensively around).

Now who’s the idiot?

Good day, sir.
GS


Amaryllis August 28, 2022

I always think about Judge Judy when I see folks with their dogs off-leash. DO YOU WANT TO END UP ON JUDGE JUDY? No matter how much we love our little guys, they are still animals and they can lose control. Good for you for keeping Martini safe.

Perpetually Plump August 28, 2022

What asshats. I have a pitbull. She doesn't like other dogs. I will cross the street to get away from other dogs. Or stand with her between my legs while she's sitting while someone walks past. I don't play when it comes to her. (okay. Now she's old and can't even go for walks...).

Delilah August 28, 2022

This is such a huge pet peeve of mine. “Friendly, we’ll-trained” dog is running around off leash. Usually a breed with a bad rap. I call for the owner to leash and they give me a lecture on breed-ism while their dog runs up to us. Then my leashed dog bites their dog in the face. Because Scout doesn’t like dogs in her face and she does not care about mood, temperament or training.

You did the right thing by protecting your dog and you. People are so predictably unpredictable.

Deleted user August 28, 2022

Prong collars are cruel and anyone who puts one on their dog should have to wear one themselves. So he's an asshole to begin with.

bobbi01 August 28, 2022

It's never being an idiot to be proactive about safety. What a dick.

Jinn August 28, 2022

My poodle that was leashed was killed by the neighbors German Shepherd , who got away from them. Anything to prevent that kind of tragedy.

Ginger Snap Jinn ⋅ August 28, 2022

OH MY GOD, I am so, so sorry! I can't imagine a worse situation. That's heartbreaking and exactly what I'm trying to avoid.

Jinn Ginger Snap ⋅ August 28, 2022

Never hesitate to protect your dog from another.

Florentine August 28, 2022

Nope, nope. Every dog should be leashed in public unless it's a strictly no-leash dog park. I don't care how friendly or well-trained the dog is. You are the smart, responsible one.

I have a 7 year old who is TERRIFIED of ANY dog who bounds over to her. Kids (and other animals--and, hell, even adults!) can be so skittish and unsure when something new approaches them and they aren't able to interpret their intentions. They need to feel safe and someone yelling "He's friendly!" does not mean that dog won't jump or lick or sniff or even just get into someone/some dog's personal zone. That's a huge no from me.

Complicated Disaster August 28, 2022

Better safe than sorry for sure!!! xx

Nash August 29, 2022

Patty is a great dog and all 70 pounds of her gets along great with 95 percent of other dogs she meets. Doesn't matter, she is never off leash in public unless it is an off-leash park. It only takes one incident to do serious damage and nobody knows how their pooch is going to react to an unfamiliar dog first meeting. People can be such pricks.

sudare August 29, 2022

Sorry you got the nasty word.

WhatDreamsMayCome August 29, 2022

It only takes a fraction of a second and you're right, ya never know what an animal might do. We have a 6 lb Morkie, a 40 lb rescue, and a 90 lb rot/lab. It is hilarious to watch the little one chase the big ones around the yard.

Athena August 29, 2022

When people say about their large dog "my dog is friendly," I love to say about my small ones "but mine is not." Idiot is a really harsh word. :(

Ginger Snap Athena ⋅ August 30, 2022

Super harsh! That's why it threw me and sent me into an anger that was surprising to me. I mean, YELLING at this dude from across the parking garage? Geez. I'm still not over it.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.