Just another day in the office. in The Napkin.

  • Jan. 23, 2022, 7:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I got a compliment on my squat today. It’s funny, it was my first time squatting this year. Been “just” deadlifting. Not sure why I thought my squat would suffer. It’s not like I’m some elite broseph. Just hit a top triple @ 185, did some sets of 8 @ 135, then did some pause squats @ 95 lbs.

Then did three sets of deads; 3x5 @ 235 lbs. Nothing maximal. Considered doing sumo deadlifts, but I glanced the clock and, yeah no. Finished with walking lunges, farmers walks, and leg extensions.

I was inspired by looking over my logs from years ago. I threw caution to the wind and started squatting and deadlifting on the same day, twice a week. And… I enjoyed the hell out of it. Kind of takes the guesswork out of “what should I do for assistance work” if I spend 45-60 minutes in a squat rack. Okay, deadlifts are in front of it, but whatever.

Really just wanted to annotate that. To think that before leaving for the gym, I read a line on reddit that went along the lines of, “Don’t put yourself down, because your starting body is someone else’s goal body.”

:: shrugs :: Like most people, I look like whatever with a shirt on.

alt text

PS: In case I forget my own context, “office” means “squat rack” or “gym” in this case.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.