I don't have an ED. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Jan. 9, 2022, 4:13 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Isn’t it funny how if I were female, that would be read one way, but since I’m male, that’s read another way? You know me and random observations.

But wait, there’s more. If you’re a male who goes to the gym near-daily, and documents everything he eats (including calories), you’re a gymrat.

Same criteria as a female? YOU MIGHT HAVE AN EATING DISORDER.

My simple delimiter is how you feel after you binge (read: treat yourself). If I have a bag of popcorn, I enjoy the hell out of it. I’ve been around reddit long enough to run across posts from females who lament “I broke my calories for the day, so I just went on a full binge and felt like shit.” That self-shaming emotional aspect, that’s an ED.

Me, I’m tracking my calories for accountability. If I go “over” on calories, so what? It’s all for statistics. To be honest with myself rather than hand-waving. How DO you know how much to eat to “maintain” if you don’t do the math at least once?

It’s been five or more years since I last counted calories, and to this day, I still have memorized that your average slice of pepperoni pizza is 250 calories. You bet your ass I’ve had 6 slices in a meal and felt “Mmmmmm, delicious greasy unhealthy calories.”

I guess I favor IIFYM* or otherwise whether I have the calories to spend. As opposed to blind guessing. One meal doesn’t effect body composition much in either direction. But habits across a week, a month, do.

*if it fits your macros

To reiterate, I’m counting/restricting carbs and calories in an effort to tackle long-standing visceral fat. Seriously, it’s ONLY there. Not arms, not thighs, just there. Correlates with heart issues down the road. My strategy beyond these 8 weeks will be either stay the course, or find what a small surplus IS. (More difficult to get stronger on a calorie deficit.)

Eh, whatever. Half the time I write stuff out so I can look better later either “I remember that headspace” or “Gosh, I’m still like that” or “wtf was I thinking”.

Oh. Because carbs, I’m considering abstaining from milk. I said considering - I fucking love milk. But, I’ve joked so many times “I’m lactose dependent” that it’s made me wonder if MAYBE I REALLY AM. Lactose can be broken down pretty easily into sugar. Makes me wonder if milk can be a contributing factor to sugar cravings. 11c8p150cal per cup.

And oh, I don’t expect to carb restrict forever. It’s an experiment. After all, I kind of miss having a meal of oats to break my fast.


I remember years ago when I took a nutrition class. I started looking at food differently. It’s… Once you know what’s in food, you just don’t entirely turn off that knowledge.

Ignorance is bliss.

But well, I’ve red-pilled; dinner tonight is chicken and broccoli. …Did not plan that for this post. And shush about “aren’t there carbs in broccoli?” Indeed. If we start quibbling about eating broccoli, we’re doing something wrong.

At least I’m not the weirdos on /r/keto that proudly state they drink melted butter to get their fat intake (and “induce”) ketosis. I’m not making this shit up.


Oh, and if it needs to be said, I don’t have erectile dysfunction, either.

alt text


Sleepy-Eyed John January 09, 2022

I'm planning on learning nutrition. But I'm planning on learning a lot. I'll get there when I get there.

I should probably check my calorie intake and needs. Not sure how though. I'll probably die early anyway.

Timmy™ Sleepy-Eyed John ⋅ January 09, 2022

There's no one-size-fits-all. Some say don't weigh yourself. I weigh myself right when I get up, and right before I go to bed. Even when I don't count calories, I try to track what I eat. It's fun looking back on a calendar "oh yeah, I haven't had spiral mac and cheese in a while..."

That nutrition class taught me a lot about micronutrition, most of which I've forgotten. As far as supplements, I tend to favor ones for specific needs. But overall, we don't really need any.

Without any restrictions, a good start is to just write down what you eat. No calories. No "diet". Just write it all down.

Sleepy-Eyed John Timmy™ ⋅ January 09, 2022

That's fair. Wise. I can do that too

synapse January 09, 2022

I'm a short and small person and whenever I lose some pounds or can't eat enough to flatter the host somebody starts rumors or tells me I have an ED. it's super gross.

what are you meaning by red pill here? 🤔

Timmy™ synapse ⋅ January 09, 2022

As opposed to blue pill. You know. Keanu Reeves. He knows kung-fu. Techno BDSM dungeons.

Miss Chiffs Manager January 15, 2022

LOL
I'm definitely in the "male" camp in terms of relationship to food. Oh, look how much I ate today- man that was delicious mentality. I learned about eating disorders, briefly, in one of my nutrition classes but my focus was physiology, not psychology, so it was a passing mention if anything.
I've also blended butter in my coffee, no shame. It's freaking delicious.

Timmy™ Miss Chiffs Manager ⋅ January 15, 2022

That's how it's done. "Oh yeah, that just knocked a few hours off my life. Oh well, it's the end hours I'm losing." Ha ha.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.