SUNKEN in Postcards 4

  • Aug. 21, 2021, 3:23 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

alt text

I’ve always been fascinated by ships. As I get older, I find ships histories interest me deeply. In the NY Times this morning, I found myself wandering among the ships of the Franklin https://www.nytimes.com/2020/02/20/world/canada/hms-erebus-terror-artifacts.html?action=click&module=RelatedLinks&pgtype=Article expedition that set out to find the Northwest passage across the top of Canada.

The article tells us, “The disappearance of the Erebus and the H.M.S. Terror (170 years ago) is still a mystery, part of a story that has eluded scientists, rescuers and historians for more than a century. On Thursday, Parks Canada, Canada’s national parks service, and representatives from the Inuit population said they hoped the newly recovered artifacts from the Erebus would help them reconstruct what happened aboard the vessels before they sank.”

The photographs of the Terror and her artifacts kept me glued to my monitor most of an hour. Many years ago, photographs from the Titanic, the Bismarck, and even the carrier Yorktown by https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Robert_Ballard Robert Ballard riveted me equally. Interests grow and spread. Many of you know that I belong to all sorts of ship organizations. There is a list to the right of my Postcards blog with quite a few of those interests.

I don’t know why I thought it would be a lovely sunny day. I shall tear myself away from sunken ships. I’ll dress a bit more warmly than I am now, and see if I can make a major dent in that Crow quilt.

  • Himself: Space games then off to the museum to docent.
  • Myself: Read, sew, read.
  • Reading: Still the Miles Vorkosigian saga.
  • Watching: KPBS: Season 2, Bake
  • Photo: Mine: Carnival ship.
  • Weather: Cold and blustery for me. G has shorts on.
  • Gratitude’s: Rain last night. Wonderful stuff.


Marg August 22, 2021

Oh they won’t let me see the article unless I subscribe. Ships have also fascinated me too and I love anything to do with the Titanic. Maybe you were an explorer in a former life!

NorthernSeeker August 24, 2021

There was quite a bit written about the Franklin expedition a couple of years ago when they (Canada) found the remains of one of the ships. It's great to have such an interesting hobby as studying ships.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.