Teach your children (and grandchildren) well in Daydreaming on the Porch

  • Dec. 8, 2020, 10:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

This past Sunday, I had a perfectly delightful walk at the state park It was a cool, early December afternoon, and the conditions were perfect for walking. I had my camera ready to take pictures as I always do. I’ve been walking here for so many years that I know every square inch of the place quite well, in every season of the year. It’s an astonishingly quiet and peaceful retreat right square in the middle of the city. Amazing to me that I have this sanctuary, and it’s only 15 minutes from where I live.

This time of year, I especially like to take photos of the camellias which are in bloom all over the park. I also have a favorite spot to take pictures of reflections in a tidal creek and of the open sky and marsh comprising a vast panorama before me. Majestic Nature.

Well, these are the musings of a solitary older gentleman. Sunday was a day for families: Moms and Dads, grandparents, and lots of kids tagging along or riding their miniature bicycles. For someone like me who is inside a big house alone, day after day, and month after month during this pandemic, the sounds of children having a glorious time in the outdoors at the park, cheered me up and lifted my spirits. You would never imagine we were in the awful year 2020 when listening to the shouts and laughter of those kids. Such innocence. Such exuberance. I had to smile more than once as I tuned into the banter.

The park has a small zoo with animals that are, or were, present in the area as long as 300 years ago. These include foxes, deer, otters, a bear, possibly an alligator or two, and other critters sure to please the kids. Obviously, this is the main point of enjoyment for them, not the gardens full of camellias and azaleas, or the historic sites, except for the replica 17th century trading ketch, the type of ship that brought the first English settlers to this part of South Carolina in 1670. Children love to tours this old sailing vessel. They have so many questions. There is also a large and beautiful old Southern style house that was owned by the park’s generous benefactor. It is used for wedding receptions and other special events. Kids apparently call it the “white house.”

As I was walking back to the entrance, I saw a family with two kids, maybe 7 and 9. The little girl asked her brother, “If you could have a house anywhere in the park, except for the “white house,” where would it be?” He didn’t hesitate a second. “My house would be over where the otters. live.”

I had to laugh. I could immediately see that my somewhat stern, serious visage had melted into a smile. When you live alone and don’t have children or grandchildren, these priceless conversations among young people are absent. There may be no annoying behavior to contend with, but no fun either. As I enter my seventh decade, what I really miss is having grandchildren.

I saved this devotional story from “The Upper Room” this past August. It illustrates exactly what I’m talking about.

Sandra Sullivan relates this story:

When our grandsons were ages 4 and 6, my husband underwent chemotherapy. We wondered how the outward changes in him would affect them. After a momentary look of concern, the four-year-old, Seth, went running to his grandpa and entered into play as usual. Six-year-old Elliot said, “It’s okay, Grandpa, because you’re still the same inside.

You remember these little vignettes of life you read about when you never get to hear such things. So the times when I do overhear the priceless wisdom of children, I am enchanted and delighted. It doesn’t last long, and it may be some time before I have such an experience again, but scarcity makes it all the more precious.

I can see now more than ever why grandparents dote on their grandchildren. To those of you who have grandchildren, enjoy them to the fullest while their eyes are bright with laughter and innocence, and before age, life, peers, education and society stamp out most of that innocence.


Kids of all ages and adult are fascinated when they tour this replica 17th century trading ketch at the state historic site.

Untitled


Last updated December 08, 2020


Marg December 09, 2020

I will (and am doing) certainly do exactly as you described in your second last paragraph! I know these moments with the kids are very precious and won’t last forever so I’m definitely trying to make the most of them :)

Oswego Marg ⋅ December 10, 2020

Fom reading your diary, I know you do try to make the most of your time with them! What joy they bring you!!

Marg Oswego ⋅ December 14, 2020

They absolutely do :)

A Pedestrian Wandering December 09, 2020

This was delightful. To children everything is new and wondrous.

Oswego A Pedestrian Wandering ⋅ December 10, 2020

And constantly new and wondrous. Aren’t their questions amazing? They ask the questions we’ve long forgotten how to ask ourselves.

ConnieK December 09, 2020

My first Grand is coming in April. Can't wait!

Oswego ConnieK ⋅ December 10, 2020

How lucky you are, and you have so much to look forward to.

ConnieK Oswego ⋅ December 10, 2020

I've waited a long time.

Newzlady December 09, 2020

I would enjoy watching otters from a window of my house.

When the pandemic is over perhaps you could find a family with no grandparents and “adopt them” for visits to the parks. Seems like maybe there’s a program for that? If not, there should be.

Oswego Newzlady ⋅ December 10, 2020

Adopt-a-Grandparent? Probably not for me, but I have a keen ear and gift for observation, so I make the most of people-watching on a bench at the park, that is, when I’m not too preoccupied with getting in my brisk walk! 🤔

Jinn December 10, 2020

It sounds like a lovely place !

Oswego Jinn ⋅ December 10, 2020

A perfect sanctuary. If I move away from this area, that will be one of the parks I will miss the most.

Oswego December 10, 2020

That’s a lovely description. When I’m truly in a receptive mood, those sounds can bathe the ears in contentment and familiarity.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.