Tomplicated in Current Events

  • Dec. 5, 2020, 2:45 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

The mistake I made in my previous entry was combining two separate entries. In the first entry, I was just presenting the real-life Microsoft patent and the real-life Great Reset Agenda and I explained how they relate to each other in real life. Being digitally illiterate and out of touch with the times doesn’t make those go away for you. No matter how hard you laugh at something it doesn’t magically make you smarter than it. You’re just auto-inflating your own ego and if that helps you feel special I’m just glad that I was able to help. The information, however, was right there for you. It was fully representative of reality. Nobody is going to help understand that for you. I’m not the news, I’m not going to tell you what to think. You’ll have to learn how to process multiple partial views in working order on your own and discern for yourself how they all relate to each other. Daniel Schmachtenberger does a great job of explaining the cognitive gymnastics that is critical thinking. I do recommend his work because high signal, low-noise information is hard to find and we’re all making more and more consequential choices with worse and worse sensemaking. What I keep encountering are individuals that seem to be measuring intelligence by comparing everything to their own knowledge basis. If they can’t understand something then that something must be stupid. That’s their epistemology, that’s how the whole world ends up looking so stupid to them. It’s funny how that works but I don’t have their extra chromosomes so I can’t relate to that experience.

The second half of my entry was one part conspiracy theories that I did not create on my own and one part conspiracy theory that I did create on my own. I didn’t make it clear enough how all of those related to each other and someone got butthurt. We are adults, I’m not responsible for someone else’s feelings. I don’t know who needs to hear this but insults are not a legitimate form of argument. Being offended does not make your opinion more accurate either. I’m open to exchanging ideas. I have plenty of room for differences of opinion but it is not worth it for me to interact with somebody that believes their knowledge and understanding are sufficient enough for everybody to just accept. Narcissism is the herbicide of conversation. Nothing grows there.

I overcomplicate things because everything is more nuanced than it appears. I don’t just accept opinions as facts, anymore. Rhetoric is not a substitute for reality. The complexities of the world cannot be processed by one mind alone. I offload a lot of it to sources that I trust to do good sensemaking and epistemology. I do that by exploring the facts on my own to see if what they are saying is representative. I don’t just give everything that trust they have to earn it. The ecology of information is broken for a multitude of reasons. I am exploring some of Daniel Schmachtenberger’s work and sharing my learnings. Click Here if you’re interested. A lot of the information out there is just truthful and not true. People are honestly spreading misinformation. In a free society, one should be trusted to discern for themselves where they want to land on an issue. That is not intrinsic, it is developable. We should have been taught this skill in school. Swap gender studies with sensemaking 101. I absolutely do not just accept information from authoritative sources. Especially when they keep demanding that we do. I don’t want to fall for propaganda. This often leads me to have opinions that are counter-narrative. This is modern-day blasphemy. Cable news functions like a cult. I can replace one person with another and they will just say the same things.

I’ll take you through my train of thought. It’s nothing special at all. I was sent a link about COVID. That link just showed me the picture. The picture doesn’t make me understand much. I want to know who the artist is, what they used to create that image. This picture was about the COVID stats. What is their epistemology? They’re not using death counts, ICU capacity, available ventilators or available hospital beds to justify these lockdowns they are using case counts. So I ask myself what is a COVID case? It’s a person who has an infection, obviously. My next question is what are they using to determine infection? PCR tests. What is a PCR? How does it work? How does it relate to a case? A PCR is a Polymerase chain reaction. It takes a piece of something and then creates more of it. A positive test result does not determine infection or if a person is infectious. It just tells us that this piece of something is or was present at some point. A positive test result is not by definition a case. That information is distorted because calling it a case is misinformation. This picture also shows death counts. What is a COVID death? How are they measuring that death count? Are they doing autopsies? Are they going off symptoms? Are the PCR tests determining a COVID death? The answers to those also take away from the big picture. So why are we complicating the picture? This leads to even more questions.

This leads me away from the narrative which is blasphemy to the cable news cultists. They see a plague, I see a casedemic. This makes me ignorant for not accepting their gospels. Immoral even, I’m a heretic. Science says is the new bible says. Nobody questions the word of God and nobody questions the word of news. Science is not settled, it’s not natural for there to be one accepted opinion in science. You don’t have to look very hard to see scientists and doctors that were politically assassinated for being counter-narrative. The ones being tricked are those who don’t ask questions, who just comply and believe the fact-checkers which is just modern-day book burning by the way. We’re running on two different sets of information. There is no unity in today’s culture. Just conformity. This is because we don’t leave space for differences of opinion. This keeps things so polarized. This is all I feel like saying for now. It’s a beautiful day out, I’m going to go be a super spreader with my supermask. Ta


Last updated December 05, 2020


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.