En Español. in Whey and Sonic Screwdrivers.

  • Dec. 2, 2020, 12:18 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So anyway, a coworker commented today that I speak a lot of Spanish. I had a massive moment of reflection, as I didn’t even realize I do it. Working with hispanics, it’s a habit to speak Spanish with them whenever I address them.

And I feel I don’t even know a lot of Spanish.

I do it.... Out of respect. I’m painfully white and English is obviously my first language. I have noticed they seem happier when I talk to them in Spanish. As well, as it is their first language, sometimes the communication is a little faster. I’ve lost count of how many times I’ve used the phrase “como se dice....” Heck, there’s one coworker who speaks almost no English. Ha, lots of pointing and we got things done.

So, aforementioned coworker mentions this to me, and it almost felt WEIRD to talk in English. I wonder if I slip into Spanish because I’m afraid they won’t understand my English. Broken Spanish over English they can’t comprehend? It’s a thought.

Anyway, I think that covers it.


PepperGrape December 02, 2020

You’re a good huevo, Charlie Brown.

AnOrangeZebra December 03, 2020

I miss spanish. My ex girlfriend got almost as far as I did in school so we used to speak/ practice with eachother. I enjoyed that but she didnt seem to as much. But, if you dont use it you lose it. =-( I have no one to blame but myself lol.

Timmy™ AnOrangeZebra ⋅ December 04, 2020

Workplace, they kind of know you're white/english speaking. What is tricky is when you flash the Spanish when ordering at a restaurant. And you have to clarify "Sorry! Was being polite! Don't know THAT much!"

AnOrangeZebra December 03, 2020

I am also painfully white lolol

Timmy™ AnOrangeZebra ⋅ December 04, 2020

You pull it off well.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.