Parental in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • Sept. 20, 2020, 7:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, here’s something....

Yesterday, Nala was desperate for a walk. All of my “walk buddies” (read parents with children) couldn’t come to give Nala the added stimulation she needs. So I decided to do a 4 mile walk with her, hoping that would be enough.

I have four different shoes that I could wear for this walk.
(1) A 6 year old pair of basketball sneakers that weigh an extra five pounds more than any other of my footwear
(2) my work shoes, professional leather loafers that should not be worn for vigorous activity
(3) My “every day, mud kicker” sneakers that are breaking down after 10 years
(4) My water proof “these are for outdoor backpacking and camping adventure boots

Of those choices, I selected number 3.

Nala enjoyed her walk.

I tore a hole in my foot.

These things happen.

It hurts a lot.

I’m taking care of it.

That being said, I shared a picture of a pooped Nala with my family followed by a picture of my foot. The messages were:
“Here’s a FINALLY pooped Nala after a 4 mile hike and outdoor play time. HERE’S a picture of my foot damage from wearing 10 year old shoes for the 4 mile hike”.

THE ONLY RESPONSES I GOT
My Father: Dumbass
My SIL: You used to sell shoes, you should know better!!

Notice how NO PERSON asked why I was wearing older shoes?
Notice how the very THOUGHT that I may not have the funds to afford new shoes came up?
Notice how there was no compassion about the pain or injury or even emotional connection as to “Aww, Nala’s cute when she’s tired!!”
None of that.

It was straight to name calling (dad) and shaming (sil).

BTW- I’m wearing older shoes because I’m trying to limit my “Shopping Mall/Large Shopping Center” access during a global pandemic. But no. I’ll accept “dumbass” as an appropriate response.


DE_KentuckyGirl September 20, 2020 (edited September 20, 2020)

Edited

You're not a dumbass. Many of us don't buy new things for ourselves because....well, we just don't becuase self care is something we don't think about.

Buy yourself a nice, good pair of walking shoes, Chris. The shoes are much older than the pandemic. Order online. You need a good pair of shoes, so get yourself some.

I hope your foot isn't hurt too badly. Be careful not to let it get infected.

AppleGirl September 20, 2020

Nice. -_-

stargazing September 20, 2020

Zappos.com. Free shipping and free returns.

Your family's responses weren't cool.

Always Laughing September 20, 2020

Hope your foot heals quickly. Sorry those were you only responses.

DimMeOut September 21, 2020

Ouch!!! Hope your foot heals up fast! And definitely get yourself a new pair of walking shoes.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.