Ok Boomer in Current Events

  • Sept. 18, 2020, 9:07 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

It’s funny, this morning, before my coffee, I made a shady comment about boomers being slightly out of touch with current culture. Then I realized how out of touch I am in my own way. I had a rude awakening, I was sifting through my hundreds of e-mails from indeed on my separate account and I noticed that people have been responding to my resume this whole time. Back in my day… 14 years ago when I was looking for work I went to businesses to drop off a resume and to fill out an application. Then they would then call you if they were interested. Last year I was getting over a brutal job loss from a position that I had for 13 years. When I was finally ready to put myself out there I was met with snobby managers acting like I was trying to give them an explosive whenever I tried to drop off a resume. I adapted, I applied online. Then eventually I got hired at a craft store until miss Rona came along and pulled the rug. This round I decided to upload my resume on Indeed and join 2020 and apply that way. Here I am in 2020 thinking that somebody will call me for an interview if they are interested. Nope, it’s all through e-mail. I sulked for a bit, I was pretty angry that my dumbass didn’t know that this is how it is now. I’ll reply to the ones that aren’t too old. I had just under 1000 e-mails from Indeed, I was getting sent dozens of job postings every few days and the other e-mails got lost in the shuffle. I was not keeping up. I had to google how to link my second google account to my phone because I’m old people lol. It’s okay, I know better now. Also, I can feel more confident that my resume was getting attention.

What I mean about the boomers, is hard to explain. There is a culture that they’re not fully a part of. The way I’m not fully a part of the culture that is for Gen Z. My interactions with them, the liberal boomers, have been interesting. To say the least. As liberals, they naturally don’t know how to attack an argument. Just characters. Another one from Facebook university they’ll say in one way or another. Most millennials and Gen Z don’t watch the news. We get almost everything from social media. The best pundits and journalists and reporters work online. They don’t have a network, they’re not getting funding by governments. We like, subscribe and donate to their Patreon if they’re good. That’s how we do it now. These boomers also do this weird thing and use a laugh emoji or type lol when they run out of argument to save face. It’s the equivalent of this is ridiculous from a Karen once they’ve run out of argument. I dealt with a lot of Karens when I was the manager they demanded to see. Anyways, just a small observation. Liberals in general though! They seem to believe that something is stupid if they don’t understand it. Like, what? Anyway, I also thought it would be hard-pressed to find somebody that still thinks that current events are just the regular partisan games. Ok, whatever I’ve said enough condescending garbage. I made my corn chowder and bread bowls today and they turned out great. I was a little nervous about the bread. I’ve never used bread flour before, it was super simple. Kneading that dough is therapeutic. My sister is coming to town today. I hope she gives me COVID. I would rather get antibodies that way lol. Her town got hit because of Maple Leaf. This is not a plague, I’m not scared. I’m only scared of the government house arrests and upcoming vaccine.


pineappleprincess524 September 19, 2020

Boomers grew up in a different world and haven’t realized just how much has changed.

analizzato September 19, 2020

I have many aunts and uncles who are liberal boomers. Raised conservative, and now they are politically active and alllllllllll over facebook, sharing poorly sourced articles and doing a ton of arguing in the comments section and name calling. Grandma killer is my favorite one, because of the irony of what is actually happening to Grandma while being locked down in a nursing home and getting sick, then dying alone. But people like her (my aunt for example) who are going all over town to get their seeds and landscaping mulch wearing masks are saving the world. I'm seeing that they do not know how to navigate the online platforms for sharing information but they are still doing it, and doing it poorly. They are also easily falling for headlines, phrases of the day, and current moods with a passion. And then blindly doing it (blacking out their instrgram for BLM for instance) without having a clue where it came from or what its about. Its popular with the liberals? Then I'm in! Its hard to keep up and I see them stumbling. They live in a bubble of midwestern white bread but suddenly they have become social justice warriors for causes they havent researched well. This is just my observation of people I know. These things have caused a lot of division in our family. My dad's siblings and himself were raised in a conservative catholic home. His sister is now a radical liberal atheist and campaigns for political candidates full time.

TL analizzato ⋅ September 20, 2020

It's caused a divide in my family also, I'm pretty toxic to them now. It's my job to like me so I'm not affected. However, for the reasons you described above I do voice my opinions and source what I can and dissect their sources because I assume that they want to care but don't know how or something or other. Rebel Wisdom is a group that teaches us all about the war on sensemaking. I recommend them to everyone.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.