2020 in Pandemic

  • Aug. 27, 2020, 5:57 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I searched all day for a way to arrange these past five months into something that made sense. I sat down at my computer three times and closed my laptop three times.

But the only thing that comes to mind is “2020 is midnight blue.” The sky outside my bedroom window is dark and endless, with a waxy moon tacked to it. Night in the country has always magnified my loneliness, been a reminder that my existence is fleeting and my motion is stagnant.

It is a year marked by trauma and grief. The pandemic that loomed over my brother’s wedding in India, that cut my time there short and continues to hold my brother and his wife hostage there. The abrupt, but hopefully not final, ending of my life in San Francisco. There was the delayed mourning of my relationship, without the possibility of distraction—no friends to go out with, no hookups to pursue, no drinks, no parties, no people to meet.

There was the devastation of the BLM protests, the police brutality on camera that went unchecked. Rubber bullets shot into eyes, pepper spray at point-blank range, screaming for equality, and the constant reminder that people of color are dying disproportionately, and alone, in hospital beds, in heartbreaking conditions, being cared for by increasingly desensitized workers. Ants were crawling all over people as they died, I remember a nurse wrote about a hospital in Texas.

They’re brown people, I have thought so many times. Nobody cares, because they’re not white.

When Trump was elected in 2016, I remember wondering how many people would die because of him. I’m not sure what I thought, but it certainly wasn’t hundreds of thousands. It should be a collective grief, but the devastating deaths of so many people is somehow being contested.

There is the absence of physical touch. I cuddle my parents’ dog sometimes. And in bed, I drift to sleep hugging a chunk of my comforter. My family is not a family of huggers. I guess the last time I hugged someone was when I was at the airport in Chandigarh, in India and said bye to my brother. I don’t know that I’d ever really hugged him before, but I cried and I hugged him for a long time, and I think everyone thought I was being dramatic, but all I know is that he’s been stuck in India since then, and thousands of people are dying every day.

But what also been devastating has been the way this time—the virus and the protests—has revealed who people really are, and in a way that makes it apparent that we aren’t so unlike the people of the past, the people who committed horrific acts against other humans, the Nazis and the sympathizers.

A fairly good friend of mine is protesting the lockdowns, not because she doesn’t think the virus is real, but because she thinks it’s time the vulnerable and at-risk start sacrificing themselves:

I believe in wearing masks, limiting socializing, staying distant from other people in public, etc… but I will no longer support the ruining of people’s lives, livelihood, and mental health. I believe that we should be doing everything we can within realistic reason to protect our elderly and at risk, but that will no longer come at the expense of young and healthy people who may never financially or emotionally recover from this devastating setback. Death is the end of every single life. The lack of acceptance of this, is causing the means of the collective common people to live a decent life to disintegrate. Will we wait for the supply chains to completely dry up before we take a stand? Not me. And I hope you won’t either.

I didn’t write a response, and I don’t know if I should, but holy what the fuck is that.

2020 is a year of loss.


Deleted user August 27, 2020

Your friend who wrote that craziness up above is a sociopath. Please feel free to tell her I said so.

Alice, Falling Deleted user ⋅ August 27, 2020

Yeah, it's some bullshit. Peacing out of that friendship.

LittleAvocado August 27, 2020

2020 is biting our collective arses.

pangolin August 27, 2020

well that'll be a lost friendship you won't have to mourn too hard.

eleven:eleven August 27, 2020

Oof. This is heavy.

It's really disappointing to see how 2020 has really brought out the selfishness and bigotry in some folks, while others have reached new levels of compassion and activism.

Wish I could hug you.

One Angry Dwarf August 27, 2020 (edited August 27, 2020)

Edited

I'm being one of those commenters who only comments on the one thing but holy mother of shit WHAT IS THAT TAKE. I GENUINELY DON'T UNDERSTAND THIS TAKE is she saying untimely death is better than the trauma of having to stay inside and watch Netflix for a year? Like... THAT ACTUAL HUMAN BEINGS, YOUNG AND OLD, SHOULD WILLINGLY DIE SO SHE CAN GO BACK TO THE FARMER'S MARKET. And if they don't want to do that, it's because they're in denial that death is inevitable???

"Wow it's really upsetting that all these people have to lose their jobs, struggle with money and stay inside to protect my safety. I'd rather literally die this instant than force them to live through this experience." Is that... what she wants? people? to say? and do? IS THAT THE TAKE?

ALSO LOCKDOWNS OF NON-ESSENTIAL WORKERS ARE NOT BREAKING SUPPLY CHAINS, I DO NOT UNDERSTAND THIS TAKE.

Alice, Falling One Angry Dwarf ⋅ August 28, 2020

Oh no, no, you have it wrong. She isn't saying that death is better than the trauma of having to stay inside with Netflix...

She's saying that THE ELDERLY AND IMMUNOCOMPROMISED AND VULNERABLE should stop being afraid of dying and just let everything open up and maybe sacrifice themselves so the common person (i.e. her) can return to the beaches and the markets and restaurants and get back to normal living.

She's told me before that she won't catch the virus because she isn't "open to it" and isn't giving it any of her energy or fear. FFS.

justBob August 28, 2020

How are people so callous... They can't be bothered to change their lifestyle a little bit for a few months to literally save other people's lives? Of course we're all going to die eventually. The sick and at risk who are alive right now are the only ones we're ever going to have a chance to help.

rhizome August 28, 2020

whenever i think about this year, i think about this video:

https://youtu.be/FZUcpVmEHuk

2020: still a piece of garbage! and your sociopathic """"friend""" too.

Alice, Falling rhizome ⋅ August 28, 2020

hahahahaha yes

SilentEcho August 28, 2020

The worst part is I think more people feel this way the longer this goes on- SCARY shit.

Alice, Falling SilentEcho ⋅ August 29, 2020

Yeah, 100%.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.