Derp a derp derp in Current Events

  • Aug. 1, 2020, 11:07 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

[Mild Spoiler Warning]
My roommates spontaneously left town for the day. They spent the night in Anola. It was a pleasant surprise. I enjoyed having some time and space to myself. I didn’t do anything exciting. I binged the second season of the Umbrella Academy. It was so good. It was very woke though. Not diet woke either. Some of the wokeness was very cringe. The obvious BLM anti-cop rhetoric. The story took place in the 60s and there was a line where they say how the civil rights movement didn’t work and they still have the same problems in 2019. Like, come on. Then they made a straight white family man the devil incarnate for not liking that his wife had an affair with a woman. Does Hollywood know anything else other than civil rights when it comes to writing black characters? Can’t a person just be a character without the lens of race? The rest of the wokeness was fine. I do like seeing a multiracial cast where their ethnicity has nothing to do with the characters and they did do that with a lot of the characters. Body positivity was the only social justice issue that didn’t make a cameo. Not one episode felt like filler it was so good.

Today my niece wants me to take her to the witch’s hut. There is a park that has a Hansel and Gretal candy house. I said I would take her the other day but I didn’t because… depression. Kids don’t forget so she is still expecting me to take her and I do enjoy spending time with her. She turns five in nine days. She’s so brilliant. She’s so strong. When she does something wrong and you try to correct her she will just kindly let you know that she has her own way of doing things. When she is afraid to do something like drop from the monkey bars at the park she will cry in fear but refuse to let you help her so she can prove to herself that she can do it. She doesn’t let her emotions control her, she will be crying and still trying to play and talk as if she isn’t. She is a very strong empath. I felt that in her when she was still a newborn. She will cry for characters in shows when they get hurt. When she was one year old my sister and her husband had a four-month window of when my sister’s maternity leave expired and she had to return to work and when my niece started daycare. I stepped in and watched her for 50 hours a week so we could all work full-time. Day one was so scary. I’ve never taken care of a baby. I put her diapers on backwards, I cut her food up too big she chocked, I didn’t know how to console her when she hurt herself and cried. Babies are emotionally stressful. I would hold open her blanket and say nap time and she would just walk into it and let you wrap her up. I sang Once Upon a Dream to her while I rocked her to sleep. It was a lifechanging moment the first time I did that. She stared and smiled at me while she fell asleep. That made the emotional stress feel worth it. I would imagine her future. What kind of person will she be? I thought about how society would treat her as a woman. As a woman of colour. Now as she is older those things don’t matter to her. I’m older now and those things don’t matter to me either. She starts school soon and that is where she will learn that everybody is “separate”. That there is a “hierarchy” in her way. She is so strong and has so much confidence in herself I don’t see herself believing that her gender or melanin will be a disability.

Anyway, I should get on with my day.


AnOrangeZebra August 04, 2020

The wokeness lol. Your niece seems really special. its awesome u notice things like this in her.

TL AnOrangeZebra ⋅ August 04, 2020

The wokeness of it all

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.