Father's Day in First entry

Revised: 06/25/2020 6:29 p.m.

  • June 20, 2020, 11 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I sit here today thankful I’m able to spend the day with my children. One of the great mysteries of life is how to be a great dad. My dad was effectively absent since I was about 2.5 years old. I’ve made it my goal to break that cycle. There are so many times where I feel woefully under prepared and not sure exactly what the best course of action should be. I try to teach my children to love and to show grace, but sometimes I feel I choose grace over accountability too often. I fear I am raising weak and spoiled children. But at the same time I see glimpses of that loving heart shining through. There’s no guide to parenting and I often feel unqualified. I guess the hardest part is understanding what right looks like. At the end of the day o am committed to supporting my children and ensuring they understand they are prepared for life as adults. That’s very broad, but at this point it’s probably the best I am able to articulate.


Last updated June 25, 2020


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.