The One With All The Hugs! in Scottish Meanderings

  • July 18, 2020, 1:09 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Maybe don't read if you haven't hugged your grandchildren in a long time :)

Things are slowly getting back to a new normal here as restrictions ease up in Scotland. Every week brings a little more freedom back into our lives although masks are now mandatory in all shops. That's a little 'cart before the horse' in my opinion but I suppose it'll still help. And, for some reason, I stupidly hadn't equated 'shops' with 'the supermarket' and gaily went on my usual shopping trip to TESCO on Monday without my mask on. Boy did I feel an idiot!

To everyone's credit though there wasn't one snide comment or dirty look - I mean there are exemptions so I suppose, being older, folk probably just thought I was one of them but I felt really guilty and promptly bought some disposable masks to keep in my bag so that I'm not caught out like that again.

It's been lovely to see the kids properly again and June 20th was a big day for all of us. In the morning the girls went to their Dad's for the first time since March - Joel had been pushing Nikki a lot to see them before it was really safe and I was proud of her for sticking to her guns with him. We just weren't convinced that everyone around him had been adhering to the rules properly so she wasn't taking any chances.

This was the moment they all saw each other for the first time.


And then later that day I went out to Nikki's and was able to hug Ruari for the first time since March. The weird thing about this and which Nikki didn't realise is that he's never hugged me before - he's been affectionate and done things like stroke my face or blow kisses to me but he's never given me a full on hug. But it was like he knew - he spent ages just running back and fore between Nikki & I giving us big hugs - it was so cute!



And then nine days later I got my first hugs with Lily and Lilah.


Bliss!

And Nikki? Well don't tell anyone but Nikki & I cracked slightly before we were allowed to on the 31st May - we'd had an afternoon of social distancing in her garden which is large enough that we could all do that pretty well but when I was going home around 9 p.m. she asked me to leave by the back. I thought it was because Ruari had not long gone to sleep and she was worried we'd be too noisy chatting at the front door and might wake him up. Turned out it was because she wanted a secret hug!

And I didn't mind that one little bit :)

So Scotland's numbers are now very low, falling each week and lots of stuff has opened back up with all the appropriate safety measures this week. Our First Minister was urging caution and basically saying don't go mad so that we then have to regress in a few weeks but of course there will always be those who see sense and those who don't.

Along with many others, I was shocked to see that photo of the beach at Bournemouth 3 weeks ago and was proud of my city because this was taken on our beach on the same day. (Bournemouth is in England, Aberdeen is in Scotland).


The downside of this is that we may become a bit complacent and think we're 'safe' when we're really not. And it's not so much the immediate impact of the virus that scares the hell out of me although that's bad enough - it's the long term health effects of this thing which we really don't know enough about yet. I just can't imagine what the global effects of that will be as folk struggle with a variety of health complaints and governments struggle to run a slowly depleting country. However as I said to a good friend on here this afternoon, we're living in 2020 and therefore have the benefit of up to date science and scientists who are doing their level best to figure it all out so it could be a lot worse.

Imagine going through this a hundred years ago and without technology😟


Speaking of technology, The Skinner Sibling Zoom has been a great success and I'm sooooo glad I took the time and energy to organise it. It was doubly nice that we had the first one on June the 16th because the day before would have been Mam's birthday and she would have been delighted to see us all making the effort to keep in contact. Family meant absolutely everything to her and Dad.

Here we all are - and there were no technical problems with the first attempt (well there were earlier in the day but we'll just ignore that) apart from Mike sitting waiting in London at 7 p.m. for me to do something magical in Aberdeen so that he could connect with us!

Going clockwise - Ian & Margaret in the top left corner, me, Lorna and Mike. And Jenny (Mike's wife - I wrote about her cancer a while back) made a brief appearance for a few seconds to say hello on her way to bed but she was in her dressing gown and holding onto her walker so I didn't think she would thank me to plaster her photo all over the Internet!


We've had some great conversations and also a couple of quizzes as well - Nikki has found she really enjoys being a quizmaster so has been doing various quizzes with her friends and offered to do one for us too. We did a general one one week and then a Countdown one another week which the girls were allowed to help with just before going to bed :)

Having lots of fun before bedtime!


But it's meant so much more to me than just that.

Since I've had chronic fatigue, whatever happened to my body as a result has caused it to go into sensory overload with certain things - and things like a simple phone call can cause me to be ill. At the start of lockdown, coping with Zoom and online Scrabble caused quite a few problems and made my sleep go absolutely haywire until my system got more used to it and settled down (I had five completely sleepless nights in two weeks!) so I was worried about having long video chats.

We generally chat for a couple of hours at least and they do exhaust me for sure but to have individual phone calls with each of the three of them would flatten me even more, so having one video chat with all 3 at once is a huge bonus for me.

But it's also created another major project which I don't really have energy or time for!

Inevitably we often get to chatting about the past, our childhoods, the houses we lived in, places we went as kids and I will often interject with 'oh there's a photo of that somewhere'. This causes great excitement and I'm then asked to put said photo(s) on Messenger for them to see.

However the 'somewhere' I'm talking about is in all these small plastic folders!


And this is only half of them😳

Mam used to have a battered old music case jammed to the gunnels with tiny old black and white photos which lived in our cupboard under the stairs and because the case was bursting at the seams with holes appearing in the corners, little drifts of tiny photos would occasionally end up strewn all over the floor. I could see photos being lost in this fashion so asked if I could take them home to try and sort them out or at least put them somewhere more secure. She gladly agreed.

Well God knows how long ago that was but they've sat in these folders ever since waiting to see the light of day!

I have a vague idea of what's in them but never know which folder it's in so in order to find a particular photo I have to rake through all of them until I find it which, as you can imagine, can take ages. Virtually none of them have anything written on the backs. It would have been one of the things I would have spent a weekend doing in the days before chronic fatigue made an appearance - now it would take me weeks.

But at least the others asking me for certain ones prompted me to set up the big table and get them all out one afternoon and I made a start putting them into various categories (so hard to know what categories though - people? places? dates? - still figuring that out).


So far I've done 1 and a half folders :(

But I came across one which gave me a whole newfound respect for my Dad. I've often talked about what a profound impact he had on me in only the 16 years I knew him - the way he juggled everything in his life successfully - work, hobbies, friendships, professional activities, leisure activities but above all family.

As well as owning and managing a bakery business comprising of two shops and a large bakehouse, he was a member of the Rotary Club, organised and took the Boys Brigade at his church, was a member of the church choir, ran the badminton club, was a lay preacher and often preached at outlying churches on a Sunday - if not he would attend both services of his own church. He organised and took the Boys Brigade and also the Lifeboys (the junior version of the BB). He was an active member of Christian Aid and organised a yearly walk to raise money for them. He was a very active member of his local bowling club and won trophies and cups galore and he played golf and badminton too.

He had no days off from work - years later we managed to persuade him to take a half day on a Wednesday and also shut the shop on Saturday afternoon - so you'd think Sundays would be a relaxing day wouldn't you? Not a bit of it! He was acutely aware Sunday was his only proper day with us so he would be up early (he got up at 4/5 a.m. on a normal weekday to get started in the bakehouse) to cook a proper breakfast for us all, take us down to the baths for a swim, then it was back home to get changed for church. And then in the afternoon we would meet friends and go for a walk, hike, hillwalk or a picnic down at the beach depending on the weather and be back in time for church in the evening.

He bought us a caravan and organised a pitch with a friend near his farm half way to the next town in a beautiful spot amongst broom and whin bushes close to the beach. That way we could all go there on a Friday night - he could go to work on Saturday without bothering us and come back at teatime for fun on Sundays. He also organised renting a house from a friend in a place called Farr where we would all go for a weekend or a week in summer.

I used to think this house was miles and miles away and we were properly 'on holiday' somewhere. It was only when I happened to be visiting the Inverness office of my job once years and years later that I noticed a road sign saying 'Farr 11 miles'!! I was gobsmacked! But again he did that so that he could still drive to work when necessary and not spoil our enjoyment. And all credit to him, I was never once aware of him not being there half the time - he was fully present joining in all the games and everything when he was there - and we always had such a houseful anyway so that probably helped.

The boys and Lorna would have friends/girlfriends with them - I would have a friend when I was old enough - Mam & Dad's friends would come as well - the place was packed to the gunnels! In fact we had an interesting conversation the other week about where everyone slept because the house has recently come on the market and we were astonished to see it just had two very small attic bedrooms! I have a very vivid memory of coming down the windy staircase in the morning and stepping over numerous sleeping bags in the tiny living room :)

Another of my good friends on here has written in her entry this week about her cousin who recently died that although she didn’t see him much - "he was very nice to me once when we were at a low ebb .... you don’t forget those things."

That totally reminded me of Dad. He would lift people up just by his presence and was the most kind hearted, gentle soul you can imagine. But at the same time didn’t suffer fools gladly. After he died Mam had hundreds of letters from people everywhere remembering him with stories of kindnesses galore - some we knew nothing of.

I myself can clearly remember when my piano teacher decided to teach from her own house several miles out of Inverness, he drove me out there every week and while I was there, he would go and visit a dear old lady and her son in a neighbouring village.

She used to stay in an original thatched cottage miles from anywhere which had one room and a flagstone floor with a large fire in the hearth - no electricity - very very basic. Then when it got too much for her they got a council house in the nearby village and Dad went out and checked up on her every week (she would have been well into her eighties by then). He would take out a box of groceries and cakes with him and refuse all payment.

And if I had a pound for every time I read ‘went the extra mile’ in these letters Mam received after his death I’d be rich.

But of course I’m already rich just knowing him :)

So anyway this photo below was taken just after we moved into their first proper house. They'd been in flats before that and we were in a tiny house when I was born but we shared it with an old woman who apparently lived in one of the room downstairs so I'm told. (I was only 9 months old when we moved out of it). At this point we're a family of six so it must have been very exciting to move into a 3 bedroom house in a fairly desirable area, very close to both primary and secondary schools and not far away from Dad's first shop and bakehouse.

This was the state of the garden after moving in. Ramshackle doesn’t really cover it!


And here’s Mum and I playing Hopscotch in the same garden about 9 years later - and that would have been primarily all Dad's work - in fact you can see him at the bottom of the second photo working away in the garden - and I know for certain that would have been on a weekday lunchtime in between working a long day at the shops/bakehouse.


Mind you I do love the fact that in that first photo the 9 month old baby (i.e. me) is sitting in the manky old grass with a great stonking pile of toppling bricks and rubbish beside her and surrounded by rickety wooden washing poles which were constantly slipping off the washing lines!

None of your crappy old health and safety going on in those days :)



Last updated July 19, 2020


ConnieK July 18, 2020

Lovely memories! Your parents did a lot of improvements. I'd almost forgotten there was a time when fathers would come home for lunch, as did the schoolchildren!

Marg ConnieK ⋅ July 19, 2020

We were lucky in that both schools were close to the house and the main shop was just at the bottom of a Brae at the end of our street :)

history of love July 18, 2020

Ruari is so big now! He is a proper wee boy now.
Your dad sounds like a true legend x

Marg history of love ⋅ July 19, 2020

Yes someone asked me how old he was the other day and I was all set to say a year until I realised it was actually 16 months!! Dottled old Granny :)

history of love Marg ⋅ July 19, 2020

where has that time gone!?? I didn't realise he was "that" old already!

Marg history of love ⋅ July 19, 2020

Apparently neither did I😁

Deleted user July 18, 2020

What heartwarming hugs! 😃

Marg Deleted user ⋅ July 19, 2020

They absolutely were! :)

thesunnyabyss July 18, 2020

I am so thrilled and happy for you, happy tears, lol, that is so awesome!!!

and your Dad sounds like a wonderful man, I'm glad you had such a good role model,

our beaches look more like England's beaches unfortunately :(

have a good weekend!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ July 19, 2020

Aw thank you and that’s really nice of you to say because I know you’re really missing your lot!

Oswego July 18, 2020

What a great entry! Learned so much about your remarkable and beloved dad. It must make you very proud that so many people remembered him with such fondness. We can’t ask for much more than that in this life.

The pictures of the hugs were so sweet. It looks like everyone had saved lots of pent-up love for those previous moments of closeness!

Marg Oswego ⋅ July 19, 2020

It did but of course just made it sadder that we didn’t have longer with him especially poor Mam - she was alive longer without him than with him and never looked at another man after he died - I really felt for her.

We had indeed! :)

Anaiss July 19, 2020

The pictures of all the hugs are SO heartwarming!!! What great moments captured on film... well, on digital!

Marg Anaiss ⋅ July 20, 2020

Were you able to hug the kids when you saw them or are you holding off for now?

noko July 19, 2020

Oh this is marvelous, to read about you coming out a bit and being able to hug. The idea of the quizzes and with Nikki as the quiz master is delightful and everyone looks happy to be in touch. This time in lockdown has brought so many of us back to those years in our families where the focus was each other and our little worlds. It must be hard now on folks who are only children, I wish them buckets of friends. I enjoyed the stories about you father and those sweet memories.

Marg noko ⋅ July 20, 2020

I’ve always felt guilty about Nikki being an only child and never having that sibling connection y’ know? She does have a good friends group in the village and she says she’s going to make more of an effort to stay in touch with her cousins now - that’s come out of lockdown so I’m grateful for that :)

Sumido July 19, 2020

I really liked the pictures!
Here in Luxembourg, until recently, things looked like they were improving and that we were finally seeing some light at the end of the tunnel. However, they've started to test every single person here, including people who don't live here but who work here (we have a lot of people coming from France, Germany and Belgium who work here) and so, we've had a big inflation of the number of people who tested positive and now, it looks like we're going back to where we were at a few weeks ago. Germany is thinking about closing the Lux-German border and the other countries around Luxembourg (Belgium and France) are thinking about doing the same.

I'm so tired of this situation!

Marg Sumido ⋅ July 20, 2020

Yeah it’s wearing thin isn’t it? It bothers me that so many people seem to be asymptomatic and could be spreading it about willy-nilly (there’s a good phrase for you :) without knowing it :( I wish we had more automatic testing here.

Sumido Marg ⋅ July 20, 2020

Nothing to do with what we were talking about...
willy-nilly :-)
Can you give me a few examples of how to use this in a sentence? I like the way it sounds!

Marg Sumido ⋅ July 21, 2020

Sure! Carelessly or haphazardly might be a good way to describe it or all over the place - scattered - without any thought or planning involved.
Her clothes were strewn willy-nilly all over the bedroom.
Old cars were thrown willy-nilly all around the scrapyard.

Deleted user July 19, 2020

The photos of all the hugs! Warmed my heart so much! I wish things were getting back to normal here too. Thankfully, my state at least, our numbers are very low and hopefully will stay that way and keep getting lower. Part of the reason is a lot of the state is very rural and spread out. Fingers crossed! But I loved seeing the photos of all the hugs! So sweet!

Marg Deleted user ⋅ July 20, 2020

Aw thank you! It was lovely to be on the receiving end of them I must admit :)

Serin July 20, 2020

Well this is a rich entry. Your father's care for you all is lovely and makes me happy for you. And it's great you can be in touch with your people without it exhausting you!

But the hugs are probably the best part, huh? Those pictures make me smile. My baby cousins are averaging their way out of their twenties but those are my favourite hugs still.

Marg Serin ⋅ July 21, 2020

The hugs were definitely the best part :)

Kristi1971 July 20, 2020

I'm so happy that your numbers are going down. I love reading about your family. What a wonderful dad you had! :)

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ July 21, 2020

It’s really good to be in the single figures now - just hope we don’t screw things up with shops and bars opening up again recently!

Kristi1971 Marg ⋅ July 21, 2020

I hope not, too.

Beret July 22, 2020

Such a sweet entry and such sweet memories!

Marg Beret ⋅ July 23, 2020

Thank you!

NorthernSeeker July 23, 2020

Awww....luckily we had granddaughter and daughter hugs Monday to Wednesday or I would be so jealous of these photos even though I know you have had to wait a long, long time to get them.

We were doing well in BC up until too many people got the party vibe. Now numbers are spiking from a series of large house parties in the Okanagan. There are 70 cases related to the parties on Canada Day and each of those infected have 20-30 contacts. It is woeful. Crowds of drinkers spreading the virus then flying home to Vancouver. I was proud of the effort made in BC up until recently.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ July 23, 2020

I must admit I hesitated to write it at first knowing there are quite a few diarists who have been unable to get those precious hugs yet!
I think Scotland's numbers started to go up a little after things started opening up - especially the pubs - I suppose it was inevitable but really disappointing especially when both places had been doing so well. I don't know - young folk seem to think they're invincible from this thing :(

Adventure before Dementia July 23, 2020

A lovely heartwarming hugging entry Marg!
And those beach pics........what was the old saying..'mad dogs and Englishmen go out in the midday sun!'

Marg Adventure before Dementia ⋅ July 27, 2020

😆

Sabrina-Belle July 25, 2020

What lovely photos of the hugs.
Your dad sounds like a wonderful man. It's great that you have those memories.

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ July 27, 2020

Yes I really appreciate them now :)

Justlovely August 12, 2020

I love your stories! Keep telling them. You don't know how much I wish I could know more about my own parents and grands. I'm glad you got to see the Littles. My sister finally got into the "bubble" with her son this summer, so she could baby-sit and visit her grandkids. She'll go back to being alone when school starts for them, and it really was affecting her in the early months. I'm glad you are well and safe.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ August 13, 2020

Do they stay physically near to each other?

Justlovely Marg ⋅ August 13, 2020

They don't live close, but my sister has been staying with them on the weekends, and she hasn't gone so much as to Target or a grocery store by herself. She works from home. So, maybe her most exposure to others is at the gas station.

Marg Justlovely ⋅ August 13, 2020

Aw that's good she was able to see them for a while then.

edna million September 19, 2020

Have your restrictions tightened back up again? I know some of Scotland has. It seems like July was years ago! Of course the US is just chaos. Our state went to Phase 2.5 a couple of weeks ago, although nobody really knows what that even means other than larger gatherings are permitted as well as gyms and exercise studios being allowed to reopen at (I think) 30 percent capacity. Traffic is bumper to bumper here just like always.

I love that you're able to zoom with your siblings! My three cousins and I (Cousin E!) have been doing a zoom once a month since this started (well, a Webex but same basic thing). I was lucky to see them once a year even in the Before Times so it's been really nice. We tried doing some zooms with Mark's mom, who is locked down in her nursing home and has been since March. She seemed to enjoy it, but then decided she'd rather just have phone calls. They used an iPad on her end and I think it was just hard for her to really see everyone.

I LOVE the old pictures. I have about ten million of my family's old photos too, and they are also completely disorganized. My brother and I have been saying for years that we were going to scan them, and although I have done quite a few, there are many MANY more.

Marg edna million ⋅ September 20, 2020

The latest is that we have to restrict people to a max of 6 but only from 2 households and various activities have been put on hold for a few weeks - this is a more comprehensive guide https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/uk-scotland-53166816 - some parts of Scotland currently have tighter restrictions. Fun times!
That’s a shame about Mark’s mum but I can understand where she’s coming from - doing it on the iPad can be a bit fiddly if there are several folk involved right enough.
It’s such a huge task isn’t it? I doubt it’ll ever get done at my end :)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.