Happy is as happy does in Life

  • May 12, 2020, 9:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

So, on friday, i get a text from boyfriend. “so i was thinking that i don’t want to be without you all weekend....” even though his original plan was not to introduce me to his littlest child until after the virus “was over” (lol, we might be married by then). I’m of the least risk to the child (her mom is at a hospital, moms bf is a cop, dads still working, mom mom’s a nurse), and I’m really only being exposed to boyfriend’s germs, but I understood the purpose of avoiding the confrontation about this too. But, ultimately, I told him it was up to him and if he wanted me to meet her, I was ready to also.

So on saturday night I went over. She’s a little sweetie, and not nearly as annoying as most 5 year olds (I LOOOOVE children but i also know how annoying they can be lol). I brought a little gift for us to play with, and she loved that. We also played playdoh on sunday for a while. She definitely loved me and was crying when I had to leave- she wanted me to go over boyfriend’s parents with them. Which I’d be all about- I’m ready for that too, but it was mother’s day so I felt like I had to socially distance see my mom. I did stay over his house Saturday night, and apparently the little one announced, as if to get him in trouble, “DADDYS GIRLFRIEND SLEPT OVER” as soon as she saw her grandparents, so we are surprised that boyfriend hasn’t gotten a text from exwife yet. Definitely do not think that there’s a chance that she didn’t mention it to her mom… so either mom is fine with it (we went official on fb last week because i wanted her to have a chance to stalk me, and i seem pretty nice on fb i think lol), or she’s holding the card until later… def possible. I hope she’ll just be okay with it since her daughter was obviously very happy.

Making headway with his older daughter as well. She seems to be bringing up some things to me, I think looking for my perspective on things. I like that. But mostly I’m just glad that she seems open to me being around. After being gravely disappointed by the women in his life before (her own mom and former step mom), I’m just surprised and impressed that she doesn’t want to be closed off from the possibility of someone new. I get the impression from him that he hasn’t brought anybody around in a long time, so maybe knowing he’s in a good place and finally bringing someone around suggests a seriousness, or maybe she just trusts him, but either way, i’m glad.

Yesterday, I went to walk onto the beach and sighted a ruddy turnstone! They are one of the really special arctic shorebirds that my beach closes to protect (they need to basically fatten up on horseshoe crab eggs or they won’t make it all the way to the arctic, and the nj bay beaches are their last stop). They are pretty neat looking and I was excited but that also meant I didn’t want to disturb them (although i did a bit when i got on the beach but didn’t realize he/she was there), so we left. I’m going to bring binocs or a camera with zoom down today and see if I can take a better look. Of course they’re on the OPEN part, but hopefully there’s more on the closed beach because it really sucks when it’s closed for the month and i hope it does some good!

Friday should be the first day of the delayed horseshoe crab season so I can finally head back out on the closed beach at night to rescue all the horseshoe crabs. I’m excited but also nervous since I have to go alone this year and two years ago I got harassed one night so I don’t love the idea of being out there alone at night, often late around midnight or 1. But, I need the normalcy so I’m doing it. Still waiting for my permit in the mail, so fingers crossed it comes in and the organizers aren’t facing further problems with all the virus stuff.

Guess I should do some work!

But first, I recommend this song by Kenny Chesney…

“Happy is as happy does
Grab a six string, find a rope swing
Hang a palm tree in your truck
Drink a beer just because
Steal a slow dance in a rain storm
And a kiss from who you love
Laugh and live with a half-full cup
Yeah, happy is as happy does”
Def a feel good new album he’s got going on there during the coronavirus quarantine and I appreciate it!


Last updated May 12, 2020


DE_KentuckyGirl May 12, 2020

I looooove having a stackable profile! Well actually mine is locked down pretty tight but I know that hubby's ex has probably been able to access our profiles through her kkds periodically. Her life is chaos and mine is great!! Bwahahaha...

Sounds like it may be working out pretty well!

DE_nobelle DE_KentuckyGirl ⋅ May 12, 2020

I think mostly on mine you'd see the profile pictures but I made sure my education was public because i'm petty and I know that makes me look good. hahaha. I figured even with just my pictures, I seem kid friendly. But, I was looking through my pictures like … babe... you're winning. I look much more attractive than real life in these pictures! hahaha.

I do think it's working out pretty well! <3

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.