Puppy in Book Seven: Reconstruction 2020

  • April 1, 2020, 4 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Nala started this week with a limp and that limp seems to be getting worse but only towards the end of the day. Otherwise, she seems typically capable of her daily life. But for her deep lack of eating. However, last night she began vomiting. She has a vet appointment tomorrow and I am trying to limit her adventures out of my eyesight (so that she doesn’t eat something that might increase a chance of vomit.)

From a First Time Dog Owner perspective, this is clearly a medical issue that requires sincere attention.
But I have been involved in Dogs for most of my life (7 dogs and counting). The owner-based checks on dog injury and illness provide zero results. No yelping at touch, no whimpering while walking, no lack of zoomies at expected times. Furthermore, it is obvious that Nala’s life has been subjected to significant upheaval. Mamma is gone, Daddy is home… but Daddy doesn’t play with me like he used to and Daddy spends hours in the basement on a computer. Pay me attention!!

Thus… half of me is concerned that there MIGHT be something wrong and half of me is concerned that this is just a willful dog who is going through some emotional or mental difficulties. Of course… the half of me that is concerned that there might be something wrong is worried that even if there IS something wrong, it might not be caught.

It’s me of course… so nothing happens in the now factually that does not also connect emotionally with some past item. You see, for most of my life everything wrong with me was chalked up to emotional or mental and not physical. The fact that I cried incessantly instead of sleeping was a cry for attention. The fact that from 2 to 3 years of age, I did not grow at all concerned my folks enough to hospitalize me but as the hospital could find nothing wrong, it was deemed that I was somehow being willful or seeking attention. In later years, when I would explain pain in my testicles preventing me from sleeping, they would think it a ploy to stay awake. Until they had to rush me to the hospital, mere hours away from both of my testicles dying. When I would tell them in later years that I could not sleep and struggled for many nights to sleep due to pain, they would consider it a psychological issue and take me to “the shrink that sees Angel’s and prays vigorously.” Ultimately, it came to light that I had a physical condition that created chronic pain and often prevents people from reaching a form of restorative sleep. So, ultimately, I hold within me a history of the ones charged with my medical care being individuals that DID care but always suspected my issues were not physical but were somehow contrived by my emotional needs or mental peculiarities. Trying to get attention, wanting to stay up, being willful. And these are words I have already used for Nala. Not strictly as a “this is how I was raised” but also from a genuine and sincere partial belief that perhaps Nala IS simply seeking attention. And I struggle with that.


hippiechica15 April 01, 2020

My dog had an inflammed tendon in her shoulder. When she initially injured it, she would NOT put weight on it. But she also would NOT yelp when the vet palpated it!! She would get better, but still run through the pain whenever she really wanted to. It is really hard to ascertain those kinds of injuries, and they sometimes do seem like they are "faking." I'd see how still you can keep her for a week, and take her in if the limp is persistent.

I'm sorry your pain wasn't believed as a child. That is awful, frankly.

DimMeOut April 01, 2020

I'd take her to be checked. Even if she is just acting out because she's upset, it's better to be safe than sorry!!
That breaks my heart that your parents didn't believe your pain as a child. :(

Filiola April 01, 2020

It’s definitely the right move to get her checked out. What you’re describing doesn’t sound anything like a a dog’s typical cry for attention. Dogs don’t tend to emotionally manipulate - except maybe Staffy’s lol.
Sounds very much like an injury, even with the lack of reaction to a pressure test. It could be nerve related, for example. The lack of appetite could very well be pain related. Vomiting, while alarming, is common for dogs. It’s only really a worry when it’s repetitive. I’d be interested to know what breed she is! Many common problems can be breed dependent, which I find super interesting.

Perpetually Plump Filiola ⋅ April 01, 2020

Dogs are usually super emotionally manipulative!!!!! Like it's their goal to get you to bend to their will! You should see the crap my dogs do...and my boyfriend's dog. I swear there's a dog manual they got issued at birth in how best to manipulate humans.

Filiola Perpetually Plump ⋅ April 01, 2020

Lol!! My Staffy certainly knows how to put it on in order to get his way. I find it’s hardest with this dogs that look like they have eyebrows... so bloody expressive! It’s a killer!! Lol

I certainly don’t think their ploys would get as complex as what he is describing though.

Perpetually Plump Filiola ⋅ April 01, 2020

I have two pits, and they tell you the saddest stories about starvation and zero cuddles in their entire lives when they look at you. They lie. 😆

And I do agree with you that I doubt Nala is manipulative to the point of faking a limp. Dogs don't process pain like we do, and they don't react how we do.

Perpetually Plump April 01, 2020

My dog had a torn ACL some years ago. She didn't cry or yelp or have any sort of reaction when you would palpitate her knee. In fact, the only symptom she had is that she would limp And sometimes struggle to make jumps. It would be especially pronounced after she came in from playing hard outside, or if she played really aggressively with our other dog. And the torn ACL didn't actually stop her from doing anything, it just interfered with how well she did it. That knew almost immediately what was wrong, And she let me feel the way that the knee made sort of a crunching popping feel when she bent manually bent it. And the dog did not seem to care. I spent the next month giving my dog a whole lot of pain pills to keep her sedated in order to give it a chance to heal. It worked. It healed up just fine. But remember the dogs don't necessarily express pain or discomfort the way that we do. They're definitely not humans, despite us anthropomorphising them.

Always Laughing April 01, 2020

Hope they can figure out what is wrong with Nala

stargazing April 02, 2020

I'm sorry your parents didn't believe you when you were in pain. I hope they can figure out what is going on with Nala.

DE_KentuckyGirl April 02, 2020

Limping amd vomiting, yeah I'd get her checked out. Vomiting is pretty common in dogs, but the limping especially needs to be looked at.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.