Random Bossy People in Everyday Ramblings

  • Feb. 28, 2020, 8:26 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday, the sun casting shadows on the leaf buds of the pear trees out back.

There is a professor (Eitan Hersh) that has written a book called Politics Is for Power: How to Move Beyond Political Hobbyism, Take Action, and Make Real Change that I have been thinking about a lot lately. Democracy is messy and uncomfortable and I am personally not a big fan of those things but I am more not a big fan of what is going on in our country.

It is like a horrid nightmare of a toxic work situation where a woman, who happens to be the wife of a Supreme Court Justice can get together every Wednesday with her friends and people who agree with her politically and make up lists of who is loyal and who is not to the President. Then they make up memos and send them to said President and he hires and fires people based on that.

This is kind of what was happening in my now blessedly former workplace and the list that had me out was created on day one. I lasted 12 years on that list and it cost me so much. It is the same petty thing!

This gossip driven back biting scheming brings out the absolutely worst in people.

So this morning I joined the local League of Women Voters and they have these cool discussion units where you get together with folks that are not necessarily like you and talk issues and policies through.

When Mrs. Sherlock came back from her visit to Washington D.C. last year she was all fired up to join and get involved but neither of us did it. I was still embedded in the above-mentioned toxic workplace.

We talked about these discussion units yesterday while waiting for a Senior Fitness class to start at my old gym. The one I went to mostly when Mr. Finch was alive. So many memories…

The class was not as much fun as Body Pump but in a number of ways it was better for Mrs. Sherlock. We are still going to do the Body Pump class when we can. This class worked a lot more on coordination, which is so good for the mind. It is harder than my class, more effortful. Some visiting students had told me that and for me it is good to know.

Before the class started Mrs. Sherlock was standing leaning against a wall next to a drinking fountain talking to me and some random guy, middle aged, stood up after taking a drink and told her that locking her knees was bad for her and she shouldn’t do it!

Mrs. Sherlock has two artificial knees and the current thinking by Physical Therapists is that if you are locking (or hyper-extending) your knees it is okay. You are doing it for a reason. The guy had no clue she had artificial knees and honestly, no business telling her that.

We laughed.

It isn’t just women that are bossy.

This stuff, and some of the things the teacher said during class, (who was teaching three back-to-back classes!) help made me a better teacher and I am grateful for that.

Yesterday after I got home I was napping and the studio owner called to say that I will not be able to teach next Tuesday after all. The sewer repair drama continues. This is a hassle, as I don’t know who is planning on coming to the first of my new daytime classes. I need to post out to all the places I have been marketing but I will also show up in person to talk to anyone who does show up.

Things happen. It is an old building. I am not going to spin out to much on this.

On the way home from the gym I stopped and bought all the supplies I need for the Nature Journaling course I signed up for online.

Very exciting!


Last updated February 28, 2020


edna million February 28, 2020

Oh, that's a shame about the studio - I hope you find something else without any trouble! I LOVE that photo. And the workplace/current administration parallel is perfect.

Marg February 29, 2020

How does one lock one’s knees? I’m trying to visualise!
What a pain about the studio when it’s the first class - rotten timing :(

noko Marg ⋅ February 29, 2020

If your knees are completely locked in place in the joint, as in pushed straight as far as they can go, they are ‘locked’. Your knee joint is a lever that can extend to 180 degrees, and when fully extended, the joint is not as stable and it can affect posture and functional movement.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.