Sour Puss in Tales from a Rabbit Breeder

  • Feb. 20, 2020, 11:44 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

In November i bought my chestnut french girl Clover. She was not overly friendly but good enough. She was a baby and her previous owner said she was super affectionate. Good with her kids.
Since i got her. I had to blow her out a few times and pluck her. Now shes a grouch. She constantly bitches when i open her cage ( ever heard a rabbit scream, she hoots the whole time. very vocal) she pounces me when i open her cage to feed her. If i have to get her food dish she growls pounces and bats or bites. Its frustrating. Ive decided ill shear her from here on out, because if the plucking made her more grumpy then i dont want to do it again.

Im hoping that if i breed her she will maybe settle down. Shes at 9 months. When her hormones are getting overly strong and its about time for babies. Shes pinky colored on her vent. She should be bright reddish purple when shes ready so im going to swap her cage with my boys. Put her straight in the middle. Sometimes the hormones can be really strong. But a hormonal doe is usually a good mom too. I just need her to pink up a BIT more and ill breed her to my broken black buck. so i could get broken chestnuts which would be super pretty! She may end up being the wicked witch of the bunch. One you only take out to groom and breed and other then that leave her alone. Ive had a few, as long as they dont attack me i dont mind.

Today after feeding, i brought her out. Wearing my heavy winter coat even though its 40 lol. I held her in the house for a while. I gave her about 2 inches of a banana, yeah i sugered her up haha. I think every day or two im going to try holding her and feeding her a banana. See if we can at least get her to a point where shes calm when im in her cage. I really dont want to have to loose my only french girl. Im going to breed her at least once and if i get awesome babies, then there is that too.

My sister has a friend who may be interested in my english girls… But i really dont want to sell them till A i shear them, and B have a comparable color for wool production that is going to produce a lot of wool. The friend is new and has a family of related wooler quality animals. They arent much for breeding. Although i would try the one male. It would bring in a lot of not so good traits. But would give me some different colors too. So its a possibility… We will see. Its going to have to wait. Here there is a breeding season unlike in Ak. up there you can breed pretty much any time after April. After it stops freezing so much and is melting. Here you can breed like march to june, Then again come like sept. Its too hot in the middle of the summer and bucks go sterile. So i feel like im battling time.

On one hand im really small production. I dont want to breed rabbits just to cull them. But I also want a verity of wool colors.

Anyway im going to get going. Im trying my hand at some composite work in photoshop… learning new skills all the time. Its how we grow.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.