Stop and help in Bittersweet

  • Jan. 30, 2020, 7:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I went to the 7 11 for my morning soda. Im getting good at just drinking a fountain soda again and not in the house. But i run down and there is this older lady sitting in her car crying hood popped. I got my soda and asked her if she needed a jump. She said yes. She had been there an HOUR and no one offered her a jump! I had cables in my car ( thank you life long Alaska smarts!) And so this is my first time popping it lol. I get it set up, and fingers crossed its right ( it wasnt haha) No dice. I realized i had my ground on wrong, so got that on right. Nothing. Shes literally crying. in her 60s. Tells me she left her 16 YO granddaughter in charge of the 2 year old grandson to run to the store. She left her phone with the kids so they could watch tv.
We tried for 20 minutes with 3 men coming to supervise. Saying good luck. But i feel like they look down on you. Finally another man comes along and we try his cables. But nothing happens, it just keeps clicking. Im feeling so bad. This grandma has been over an hour waiting and we cant get it to start, My husband thinks her starter died. I ended up bringing her home. She was worried about her other grandkids getting them from school but what can i do. She said no one here ever offers help. The men only wandered over because we are woman with the hoods popped together. But ignored her on her own. It makes me so mad. They wont help, but they sure as shit look down on woman trying to help other woman. I wish i could do more. I cant fix her car, i cant afford it. I dont know her from Adam. But i couldent just leave her there. She was only a few miles up the road. I cant go get all her kids. But at least i tried right. Better then all the assholes going in and out of the store and ignoring her crying in her car....

So i guess this is my plea for everyone. If you see someone who may need help. Just ask, because maybe they dont, But maybe you are helping a grandma get back to her grandkids because her car is dead… you never know when you may need help and hopefully someone stops.


Last updated January 30, 2020


DimMeOut January 30, 2020

Saw your entry on the front page... So wonderful that you helped her, and infuriating that no one else would and that poor lady had to sit there worrying for an hour!!

ChainedChrysalis DimMeOut ⋅ January 30, 2020

Thank you. I think it just goes to show, that people need to really think about what they can do to help people! Especially seeing shes sitting in her car, hood popped upset. I asked on my way out because i thought maybe she had someone coming and i was only inside for the 2 minutes it takes to grab my fuzzy sugar water.
But its just a huge reminder, to myself too, to look out when people need help.

Jinn February 01, 2020

I think people would have helped here . It was probably her solenoid :-( I had a car that used to do that ; I would have to spark it with a screwdriver to start it . It was a piece of junk but I was young and very poor :-) Actually I met a lot of guys that way :-) Then I met F. and we got rid of it and finally I had a reliable car . That trash heap caused me so much stress .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ February 02, 2020

Well i know her car was gone the next morning so i hope she got her car and it wasnt towed.
I dont know much about cars. I just carry cables in case.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ February 02, 2020

I hope she got some help .

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.