Marijuana Mommy in 2020

  • Jan. 19, 2020, 5:16 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Okay, so I am a mother of a six year old child.

I also smoke weed every day. I do not see anything wrong with it. It helps me calm down, be happier.
It also helps me focus on the things that matter in that present moment instead of focusing on the little things that aren’t done right then and there. If you’re a mother, then I’m sure you know what I mean. It’s when you come home after work and there’s a couple of dishes in the sink and not everything is put away exactly where it should be. It can be really irritating, lol.

As my daughter is getting older, I’m just wondering how to handle the marijuana situation. It’s legalized for medical purposes where I live (if anyone was wondering).
She’s very smart and will eventually put two and two together. I don’t foresee that happening until much later though unless she’s exposed to a child at school who knows a bit more about the adult world than she does.

I just want to eventually explain it to her in a positive way.
She knows what alcohol is and has seen me drink that. She knows what cigarettes are and sees her aunts and uncles smoke them (she HATES it).
So I don’t want her to put marijuana in the same category as alcohol/tobacco because then she’ll look at me like, “Mom, what the fuck are you doing with your life?” Lol.
It sucks that there’s such a stigma with weed, but people can walk around smoking cigarettes and get drunk around their children with no worries just because it’s fully legalized.
And by no means do I want my daughter to think she can just go smoke weed just because her mother does and thinks it’s safe. She needs to know that there are shady people who will give you shady things just as anything else. There’s a responsibility that comes with it and there’s no need to even think about using it until you’re AT LEAST 25!!! Yes, I know, that’s unrealistic. Lol. But my point is, I don’t It should be taken seriously because it’s still something that alters the mind, but by saying that, I don’t want her to think I’m out of my mind when I smoke it.
I think you all see where I’m getting at here, lol.

I guess I’m just wondering if anyone else has been in the same boat. How did you handle it? Did you talk to your kids about it? Etc.... Anything would give me some perspective on how to EVENTUALLY (5+ years from now hopefully) handle the topic.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.