A Challenge for The Men (and Ladies) in Scottish Meanderings

  • Dec. 31, 2019, 2:59 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was out at Nikki’s last night and we finished our normal game of Scrabble earlier than usual - around 11.20 p.m. Normally it’s nearer midnight or 1 a.m. So we did something we haven’t done for a long time - when I used to go over to hers on a Saturday, just before I left for home, she would show me all the photos and videos she’d taken of the kids since last time I’d been there. And she’d include odd or funny videos she’d seen on Facebook or wherever, knowing I rarely go on Facebook so would have missed them.

This was included in last night’s and I was intrigued I must admit -


so anyone who feels like taking on the challenge let me know how you get on and in the meantime I’ll try and find out the reason why men struggle with it.


There was another advantage to the showing of videos. I very often lament the things I miss not being active in the morning - and being there for the kids on Christmas morning is one of them. I have no idea why I didn’t think to ask Nikki if she’d taken any videos and of course she had so I got to see all the excitement - albeit secondhand - through the wonderful technology of her phone. Neither of the girls wanted anything really big this year which was a big help to Nikki who was pretty strapped financially so it was really nice seeing them being so appreciative of the little gifts Santa left them.

I’m beginning to feel like a crabby old bag on this subject these days but I’m fed up of buying presents for kids I hardly see in the family then not having them even acknowledged. I haven’t mentioned this to anyone so was therefore really pleased when 2 of my nieces sent me messages and a video of appreciation re birthday gifts for their kids this year and my nephew in New York did the same for his toddler and new baby at Christmas. It really does makes a big difference.

The present buying is beginning to get out of hand though and I don’t really know what the answer is. When I counted up all the kids in the family i.e. two generations down from me, we amounted to 17 altogether - although that’s with 2 imminent additions still to be born. It takes a lot of organisation and half the time I have no idea if I'm hitting the mark for many of them or not.

Years ago I told the adults that I was going to stop buying presents for them and put their present money to charity instead. Once the next generation reached around 16 years old, I started to include them in that plan and that worked really well but now the kids are starting to take over and I’m struggling to find enough money to buy for them AND put money to charity at the same time. Need to get the thinking cap on.

I had most of the presents pretty much bought by the first week in December but the spare bedroom had begun to look like a crazy outlet of Amazon!


And then the wrapping procrastination hit - which resulted in me eventually rushing around like a madwoman the week before Christmas trying to get everything posted and wrapped in time.

I’ve never understood how someone hasn’t cornered a market in present wrapping. Most folk I know hate it and I might well give due consideration to someone invading my spare bedroom, pointing them in the direction of a table, paper, scissors and sellotape, handing them a list and letting them get on with it. How amazing would that be - to go out one afternoon and return to all your presents nicely wrapped instead of looking like a dog’s breakfast then you get the fun bit of writing out the labels!

I did finally get the finger out though and transform some of the mess into a pile of presents thus:


and then I drove out to Nikki’s in the afternoon on Christmas Day to find Santa having a nap after an exhausting night -


and just in time for the second wind of present opening after which we had a really nice meal, played with the kids, read them stories, packed them off to bed then Nikki & I played F.R.I.E.N.D.S. Monopoly.

I think it must go down on record though as being the longest drawn out game when one is clearly winning and one is clearly losing - I just kept being sent to jail or landing on free parking and missing Nikki’s properties which had vast rents waiting to fleece me until at last I was mortgaged to the hilt and down to my last couple of quid -


at which point we called it a night and I toddled off to my house in the pitch black of 2 a.m.


I managed to miss all 3 Christmas meals I was invited to this year :(

The table tennis one seems to have a penchant for being organised on the same date as the girls’ Nativity Play - that’s two years running it’s happened - last year I had a brilliant day because I hared out to Pitmedden for the play at 2 p.m. - Lily was in that one but Lilah’s class wasn’t in it until the teatime showing so I thought I was going to have to miss it. I hared back to Aberdeen for the last hour of the table tennis meal, left at 5 p.m., discovered I didn’t feel too bad so decided to make a last ditch attempt to cross town at rush hour and try and get out to Pitmedden again for 6.

I made it with seconds to spare, was really lucky in somehow managing to get into the hall without a ticket and stood at the side so that the girls saw me because I knew Lilah was really disappointed I wasn’t going to be there.

Not so lucky this year though. I waited to see if the date was going to clash again and by the time I did, the limited numbers for the meal had all been taken. That worked out well for Nikki because logistically it was turning into a bit of a nightmare for her to get to both shows with Ruari in tow so after I’d been to the afternoon show to see Lilah, I babysat Lily (she was too old to be in it this year) & Ruari in the evening so that Nikki could take Lilah back to the second showing.

She was a wee star. Well she was a shepherdess actually and unfortunately tending her sheep at the very back of the stage so it was difficult to get a decent photo. She was a bit apprehensive to start with but once she found Nikki & I in the audience she sang her wee heart out and did all her actions perfectly.
She's the second one from the left at the back with the pom poms on her head (doing the sleep action).


The writing group’s meal was in the evening an hour’s drive away which I still struggle with so that was out and the Italian class one was at 12 noon just before our lesson. I go to watch Lily swimming and help Nikki with Ruari after my 2 hours of Italian on a Thursday and usually find that onerous enough in itself so I knew I would really struggle getting there for 12 and lasting out the whole day so had to give it a miss.

My cousin also contacted me to ask if I wanted complimentary tickets to a Celtic music Christmas concert in our local Music Hall - she is Manager for some of the acts - and I had to turn that down as well. This particular concert is extremely popular and always well received every year -


and I knew it would be really enjoyable. But I just can’t seem to get past half past 8 when I go out in the evening so again had to decline.

It’s at times like that I hate the illness and what it stops me doing. However I don’t dwell on it for long - I just concentrate on what I can do and get on with that instead!

And we did get up to Inverness just before Christmas and caught up with everyone up there and my sister made us all a rather flirty Christmas cake for pudding!


Nikki had made rock cakes - Mum's staple goto when she was baking - she wanted to go and visit her grave to show her Ruari and leave a rock cake for the birds. As we didn't get up to Inverness until late afternoon and the cemetery closed at 4.30, I tried my best to dissuade her but her mind was made up so off we went in the pitch black, stumbling along the narrow paths using our phone torches and scaring poor Lilah half out of her mind. Good job I was there - I doubt she'd have found the grave otherwise!

And now I’m chock full of the crud and coughing and sneezing everywhere - which is pretty much par for the course at this time of year. So many folk I know are sick - I think we all push ourselves too hard at Christmas then our bodies react when it’s all over.

However at least I know this will eventually go away. Poor wee Matt - my niece, Catriona’s wee boy - has been in hospital on a drip for over a week now with intermittent sickness which no-one can seem to find the cause of. Ian, my brother, and my sister-in-law, Margaret, have been over since the 17th and were supposed to travel to Skye for a Hogmanay celebration this week but have decided to stay on - not least because Catriona is expecting her second baby on the 4th January!


Apparently he had a better night last night and hasn’t been sick since yesterday so we’re really hoping he’s turned a corner - it’s been a very worrying time. (Update - he got out last night so will at least bring in the New Year in his own bed :)

Other highlights of December include:


These special ‘first’ moments never fail to make me cry!

We wondered what would be the catalyst which would make him finally crawl (he’d been on the cusp for weeks and finally made it on the 5th) - Nikki is naturally delighted it was her! We’ve decided Lily is going to be a writer (she loves reading and writing and crawled for a pen) , Lilah will be a performer (she’s so dramatic, loves music and crawled to a musical toy) and Ruari is just going to be a Mummy’s boy!!

There are traits coming out in him even at this stage. He seems to be very sensitive, is definitely affected by loud noise - to the extent Nikki had to buy him a pair of ear defenders which have been a brilliant solution - and I’ve never seen a baby so tactical.

He is fascinated by patterns and certain material - often strokes my jumper/a cushion/throw if it’s particularly soft, very often strokes our faces (very gently) and regularly inspects my silver rings, watch and earrings. One of the rings has cubic zirconia coloured stones in it and another is sparkly and my watch is a mixture of silver and marcasite - so also quite sparkly. He never fails to notice them and stroke them.

And my earrings! I often wear dangly earrings and the girls always love seeing which pair I have on each Saturday when I go out so I always try to wear a sparkly or shiny pair. Well the effort is not lost on our Ruari either! I regularly get half my ear pulled off as he attempts to pull them out :)

I just love watching his personality develop and seeing how it’s evident certain things are inherently there already and just need brought out. We have had a slight worry in that he’s showing what could be very mild autistic traits. He doesn’t really play with any of his toys in the way the girls did at long before his age - his sensitivity to loud noise and stimulation concerned us - some of his developments are delayed - he’s not very vocal - it’s all little things but in conversation with Nikki one day, I realised she had a wee list as well so she’s obviously noticed stuff too.

We both have experience of autism in kids so are well versed in signs and symptoms but we both also don’t want to make a big mountain out of a molehill so are just quietly watching and observing at the moment.


And now it's the end of a year which seemed to zoom past at the rate of noughts - but then they all do nowadays.

I'll be spending part of today with my brother and his wife which I'm looking forward to and I might watch the fireworks out of the bedroom window at midnight - I get a lovely panoramic view over the city so am really lucky that way.

For many of us here, 2019 wasn't a great year so I sincerely wish all of you the very best for a much much better, happier, safer and healthier 2020 -


Last updated December 31, 2019


Jinn December 31, 2019

That was wonderful ! Happy New Year !

Marg Jinn ⋅ December 31, 2019

Happy New Year Jinn!

Jinn Marg ⋅ January 01, 2020

Happy New Year !

Just Annie December 31, 2019

Happy New Year! May 2020 be your best year ever!

Marg Just Annie ⋅ December 31, 2019

Thank you! I hope it’s a much better one for you and Robert!

thesunnyabyss December 31, 2019

what a sweet little crawler you have there and I hope your nephew feels better and is out of the hospital soon,

I hope you have a lovely evening and a beautiful new year!!!

Marg thesunnyabyss ⋅ December 31, 2019

He was sick again (he’s my great nephew so only nearly 3) this morning but just his milk so we’re hoping it was maybe just his stomach getting used to solids again?
Thank you and I hope you have a great New Year too!

Wranglingal December 31, 2019

Thanks for sharing, Happy New Years to you and your family!!

Marg Wranglingal ⋅ December 31, 2019

Happy New Year to you too!

elaine2 December 31, 2019

What a wonderful post. Happy New Year.

Marg elaine2 ⋅ January 01, 2020

Happy New Year to you too!

ConnieK December 31, 2019

Boys develop a bit slower than girls. Does Autism run in the family? I wish you all good things in 2020!

Marg ConnieK ⋅ January 01, 2020

Well this is the thing Connie - it doesn’t in our family but we don’t have any information about the Dad’s family because Nikki cut off all ties with him when she got pregnant. I knew him long enough to know he seemed to struggle with certain parts of his life - relationships, keeping jobs, other stuff like that - so it wouldn’t surprise me if there was something. But I don’t suppose we’ll ever know.

JustSurviveSomehow December 31, 2019

That is a really good idea to advertise for wrapping around the holidays! I would do it! I love wrapping. But I'm not very good at it, so not sure how many people would pay for my services. That is crazy the number of people that you buy gifts for! It seems like you'd almost have to start saving right after Christmas! And to think that a lot of these people don't even acknowledge the gift! I'm glad that some did this year. Cute pictures and video!

Marg JustSurviveSomehow ⋅ January 01, 2020

I’m just amazed no-one has picked it up as a seasonal business lol! I got a tax refund this year in November - for almost the amount I spent on the presents so that was incredibly handy!

Kristi1971 January 01, 2020

Happy New Year!!!

Marg Kristi1971 ⋅ January 02, 2020

Happy New Year! Hope it’s a great one for you and your family!

noko January 01, 2020

Glad you were able to see the video of Christmas morning and it sounds like it was a bit frustrating to not be able to participate in the more general Christmas events. Continued healing thoughts to the great nephew and for no more worrisome signs from the crawling to mom little guy. I am a terrible wrapper and am totally on board with a wrapping fairy arriving when needed!

Marg noko ⋅ January 02, 2020

Some Wrapping Fairy is missing out on a seasonal market here I feel :)
Matt is thankfully a lot better although still being sick but only once in every 24 hours which is a big improvement. They gave him milk on the first day home though - I’m not sure that was a brilliant idea for a sensitive stomach - and his throwing it back up again probably proved that right!

NorthernSeeker January 03, 2020

You have such a huge family! Even with the measures you have taken you'll be buying for 19 people next year. No wonder you don't enjoy wrapping presents. Maybe it's time to do a draw for names for the extended family. You are a brick to have kept up the tradition for so long.

Maybe one reason Rauri was delayed in crawling is that he has older sisters to bring things to him. He certainly has artistic/visual appreciation gifts.

December is such a long exciting month for children. My daughter was always sick in December. People travel and bring germs home from all parts of the year. Mr. NS and I both had some kind of virus the week before Xmas and my daughter and granddaughter were sick before and after Xmas. Funny how we never remember that when the next year rolls around.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ January 03, 2020

I know I think I’ll have to do something - it’s getting out of hand now!
So many people seem to get sick in December - I suppose we’re around more folk in general so that germs spread easier but I think stress counts towards it as well.

Serin January 03, 2020

Figure the little mister won't be offended that I grinned when he "stuck the landing" after that stupendous crawl :)

Hope you're over your bug by now. Likewise Matt.

We did a big round of "exchange germs between family" but at least this time, nobody needed an IV.

We also took the "gifting" thing a notch further. No presents for adults unless they're direct family and you really really have something special. We just focus on the little ones or else it'd just be insane.

Marg Serin ⋅ January 04, 2020

Not at all - he was chuffed with his little self and also grinned after the face plant :)
I’m fine now thanks and Matt is too and has a baby brother as of this afternoon - he’s had an exciting couple of weeks :)
That’s what we do too but the little ones have now numbered 16 and a half so the insanity has been reached!

kmh. January 05, 2020

That chair test is hilarious and fascinating! I'm going to try it tonight with Jaden when I get home from work & will let you know the results.
Adore that photo of Ruari asleep in front of the tree. So precious! As is the video him crawling, awww. If it turns out that he is on the autism spectrum, he has a wonderful Mum & Nanny who will no doubt support him with getting the help he needs to life as high-functioning a life as possible :) x
Agree about presents getting out of hand - we skipped presents this year, and it was honestly so refreshing not having to worry about it time-wise or financially.
Most shopping centres here have stalls set up each Christmas with Salvation Army (or similar) volunteers doing present wrapping in exchange for a donation.

Marg kmh. ⋅ January 06, 2020

What a great idea re the present wrapping! Only thing is I’d have to haul my spare bedroom there to get them all wrapped😁

Marg kmh. ⋅ January 06, 2020

Oh meant to say I’ve got the answer to the chair challenge but I’ll wait to see if you can come up with anything yourselves :)

kmh. Marg ⋅ January 06, 2020

We’ve done it! Just uploaded our video of it here in a new entry :)

Sabrina-Belle January 06, 2020

What a lot of presents you have to buy. I only have a few, just Hubby, our 3 children, Tony's fiancee and her mum and my best friend. I'm an only child and have no other close family. John has 2 nieces but they don't keep in touch. I'm hoping there will be grandchildren soon!
I always enjoy your photos. Happy new year Marg!

Marg Sabrina-Belle ⋅ January 06, 2020

Happy New Year Sylvia - I hope it’s a much happier and more peaceful one for you!

edna million February 24, 2020

LOL, Happy New Years two months later!!! I hope it's being a very good one so far. And I can't believe it's been so long since I even checked into PB, but I say that every time I go for ages. That is a LOT of presents!! It's so hard with kids, especially when you don't see them often. When my nieces and nephew were little it was easy and fun to buy them things, because we spent time with them and I knew what they liked. Now I have to buy things for their kids and I'm usually at a loss. I've been getting the oldest one an Amazon card for his birthday and Christmas for ages now. It seems kind of sad, but it certainly is easier. And I have to admit I always use gift bags. My presents look like a three year old wrapped them otherwise.

Marg edna million ⋅ February 24, 2020

I think I’ll be going down the same route soon - at least with the cards they can get what they really want. And Happy New Year haha!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.