Exhausted, but a good exhausted in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Dec. 23, 2019, noon
  • |
  • Public

Things with Tinder dude are officially over. After going yet another entire day without getting a text, the hints were beginning to set in. Which sucks because when I was with him in person and when he did text, he seemed genuinely interested. Statements like “we should do that again real soon”, “we’ll have to take our dogs to the dog park sometime when yours is healed”, “here’s a picture of a cheesecake I baked; maybe I’ll bake one for you sometime soon”, etc. But after that last full day of no communication, he never texted me again. Maybe “sometime” and “soon” should have been the hints I didn’t pick up on?

This is also why I have trust issues. Because I apparently have a terrible read of people and when I think things are going good and the other person is interested me, they are magically gone. So I can’t trust my gut. And I can’t trust others to at least leave me with a “hey you’re a really nice person, but i’ve found someone else” or “but I’ve decided I don’t have enough free time to date right now”. Some sort of closure would have helped.

So that wiped me and brought me down all of last week. Even though I told my emotions not to get involved. For this exact reason. But they did, and they hit hard.

But I always come back to a reasonable state of mind eventually. Key word: eventually.

On Saturday night I was looking at events on Facebook for things to do in my local area because I was determined to not spend all of Saturday completely alone. I found an Ugly Sweater Christmas Bingo Party at one of the local arcade/pub places. So I went and bought an ugly sweater (which is actually pretty funny…it says “Merry Whatever” and has a picture of a grumpy Christmas cat on the front). Figured I’ll get a few more uses out of it over the years. Ugly Christmas Sweaters seems to be a common theme for holiday parties.

My anxiety was overflowing once I parked at the arcade/pub. I was like “if this event is full of married couples, I’m going to be completely heartbroken” because I needed proof that there are still singles who exist who socialize at these establishments. I had fun! I didn’t win any of the Bingo games but everyone was super friendly and there was karaoke after the games. I also didn’t sing, but it was fun watching everyone else. I played a few pinball games as well. I got there at 8 and left at 1am. Because I was sleepy lol.

There were some attractive singles there but my shyness took over and I couldn’t proceed with any worthy conversation after the general greetings and bingo conversation. At least I got myself there and through the door though. Hopefully next time I’ll feel more confident with the conversation part.

Yesterday, I went to the HORRIBLE Seahawks game lol. It was my first NFL game ever and…the Cardinals played really well!

I bought my ticket (yeah, I went by myself) at the early part of the season when tickets were still somewhat reasonably priced. I also told myself that if I picked the game scheduled closest to Christmas, I could play it off as a Christmas present to myself. My tickets were nosebleeds, there were literally only 3 rows left behind me - I was that high up. It was fun! Even though they played miserably and crowds and loud noises really wear me out real quick. People watching was fantastic! I learned real quick that 75% (maybe more) of your experience depends on who’s sitting around you. The guy in front of me was well into being buzzed before he and his partner got to the stadium. He fully passed out before the 1st quarter was over (he was hilarious while conscious though!). To my right were two Australian dudes who had the best accents ever. The guy closest to me kept making fun of the passed out gay dude in front of me. And then he himself passed out around the same time the gay dude regained consciousness. The dude directly to my left was a Cardinals fan. A loud Cardinals fan.

I think I have enough energy/resources to attend one NFL game a year. It was worth it, but boy was I tired when I got home. Not only was it the stadium experience itself, but the day included two ferry rides across the Puget Sound and there were soooo many people on those ferry rides. Especially the return trip. I got there 20 mins early, and I still wasn’t sure if I’d be let on the ferry I really wanted to make. The ferry ride itself is an hour, and they run two ferries continuously (one each way). If I had missed that ferry, I would have had to waited an additional hour, which I didn’t want to do considering I was 20 mins early for the one I was hoping to make. I made it though, and I literally sighed a sigh of relief when I got on. The ferries are huge and most of the seats were taken with some people standing and some sitting on the floor.

It was fun though, and I’m proud of myself for accomplishing another bucket list item (first NFL game).


Last updated December 23, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.