Observations from the day in My Thoughts

  • March 13, 2014, 4:05 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I had a conversation with some students today and it got me thinking... What does God really mean to people, more specifically religion vs God. For those who don't know, which would be just about everyone reading this, I am Catholic and this is Lent. I was going to order pizza for a class of my students for tomorrow and one of them commented to make sure I did not get pepperoni on the pizza. Oddly this sparked an entire conversation on the concepts of man made rules vs the Laws set down by God. The insight of 12 year old children is amazing. It really made me appreciate my own views on religion (for another time) when I listened to these kids discuss the difference of the two and why even though man made rules don't hold any real weight in God's eyes they are important. I was taken aback at the depth of thought that these kids put into their religious life and views. I adults could look at life with the same openness that my students do the world would be a better place.


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.