Advertising: Positive or Negative? in In My World

  • March 13, 2014, 11:12 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I'm writing an essay in English about the effect of advertising on the population and whether that effect is negative or positive. I was wondering if some people here could give me their opinions and examples of where advertising was used positively or negatively.

I already have a few examples but I can't decide if I want to write that advertising is positive, negative, or neutral(both). Any help would be much appreciated.


artificialxcolors March 13, 2014

Girlie, my entire English class is strictly about advertising. I gotchu.

cheesyemoheart artificialxcolors ⋅ March 18, 2014

My prompt is: Write an essay in which you develop a position of the effects of advertising. Synthesize at least 3 sources for support. (I already have the sources, I'm just having trouble writing the actual paper... @_@)

colojojo March 13, 2014

I think it's only positive when it can relate to someone. Obviously, advertisers have to try and relate to as many people as possible, or focus on one type of audience...and that's why many commercials that come on the tv are related to the channel they're on (Lifetime vs. Nickelodeon vs. The History Channel) as well as the times they are on at (8 am. vs. 1 pm vs 12 am). Most of the time, the population takes this as a negativity because the commercials are cutting into their leisure time of watching tv or listening to music on Pandora, especially when the commercial is something they can't relate to or is repeated between every segment of music or tv.

I think there is an INDIRECT positivity for the population with ads. If someone sees an ad they liked or something new came out that they would like, obviously it's good that they saw the commercial. This is also true for ads that inform you of discounts and sales so that you can buy your items cheaper while the sale is on instead of buying at a different time when the consumer could be spending more money. What people don't realize, as well, when it comes to ads is that, BECAUSE of the annoying ads that flood facebook, tv, Pandora, and even our search engines, we are able to access these things for free or a cheaper price. In order to get commercial free Pandora or Spotify, one has to pay for it. If there were never ads, we'd have to pay for a lot of services we take for granted as being free....hence indirect positive outcome on the population

that's just my thought towards it. I loved English and enjoy writing about topics leaning one way or the other, especially when you can see things from both sides. Hope this helps. If not..., well...feel free to dismiss :)

good luck!

cheesyemoheart colojojo ⋅ March 18, 2014

Thank you for your input, I really appreciate it:) I believe I'm writing about the negative effects especially pertaining to teenagers, but I haven't fully decided yet.

colojojo March 13, 2014

Obviously, people see ads as negative parts of our lives for, what I think, are more obvious reasons --having to wait or our entertainment being interrupted or delayed, being pulled one way or another by certain brands that compete with each other, and sometimes the extent to which a company will go to get your attention (through sex appeal, really annoying commercials, something loud and obnoxious, etc)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.