Song Survey in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Nov. 26, 2019, 3:26 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, I have a long entry HERE that I do care about notes and interactions. But everyone should be rewarded with light and music, so here is a song survey for funsies :)

1: A song you like with a color in the title:


It is funny. My dad is a conservative evangelical and voted for Trump. But he loves Moody Blues, Rolling Stones, Blue Oyster Cult, Led Zeplin… and had them playing for my brother and I a lot as we grew up.

2: A song you like with a number in the title:


In a rather similar vein… I was the Good Kid that always followed rules and behaved and never challenged authority… but I really enjoyed punk music.

3: A song that reminds you of summertime:


Will Smith, whether through his blockbuster features or dance tunes, was a Summer Performer. Period.

4: A song that reminds you of someone you would rather forget about:


This, according to Aku, was our song. So… this will always remind me of the girl who seemed really attracted to me… and really damaged.

5: A song that needs to be played LOUD:


If you don’t play this song loud… are you even listening to it?!

6: A song that makes you want to dance:


Have to admit, just in general I am a big fan of Caravan Palace

7: A song to drive to:


Really could have been any Anime Lofi Hip Hop playlist. I just really groove to lofi hip hop as driving music

8: A song about drugs or alcohol:


Never let it be said that I don’t enjoy silly groups like JoCo, Da Vinci’s Notebook, Paul & Stormy and the like. And besides… I love any Irish song… even if it is a joke song that isn’t really an Irish song at all. lol

9: A song that makes you happy:


Seriously… how can this song not make you happy? This song is priceless!!

10: A song that makes you sad:


This song feels… exactly like my marriage. Honestly. Sincerely. This song is just… my marriage.

11: A song that you never get tired of:


Uh, the opening song to my favorite anime of all time… of course! That is why it is my ring tone!

12: A song from your preteen years:


I was a preteen in 1996… this song was EVERYWHERE then!

13: One of your favorite 80’s songs:


The 1980s had some excellent music across many genres. But really… how could I chose ANYTHING ELSE when this song has Queen and David Bowie!

14: A song that you would love played at your wedding:


This was the song that played at my wedding. This was our first dance. Kind of a hard thing for me to think about right now, if I’m being honest.

15: A song that is a cover by another artist:


I could have gone with anything here as I listen to a lot of cover songs. But I like how haunting APC makes this

16: One of your favorite classical songs:


I appreciate that some people read the prompt and thought “classic rock” or classic… whatever their preferred genre is. But I was raised by a music teacher. Classical Music will always mean music like this. Though, if we’re being technical, Beethoven was in the transitional period between the Classical and Romantic eras.

17: A song that you would sing a duet with on karaoke:


Now, I’m not a brilliant singer by any means but this song feels appropriate at the moment to answer this prompt

18: A song from the year that you were born:


This had to be the choice. In Teen Church Choir, I was the only male voice. I was called “The Boy”. That summer, I was in a theater class where we choreographed this song. This had to be the choice.

19: A song that makes you think about life:


Offered without comment

20: A song that has many meanings to you:


I love this song. I get it. It is very Spiderman Centric in the lyrics. But is it? Listen again. Consider that my entire life I’ve been “I can withstand anything if it is for someone else.” Consider that my entire life I’ve wanted to be The Hero. So maybe, yeah. Maybe this is just me wanting to consider myself Spiderman… but is it?

21: A favorite song with a person’s name in the title:

22: A song that moves you forward:

23: A song that you think everybody should listen to:


Honestly… this is amazing. It is an electronic song whose lyrics are strictly quotes from Captain Jean-Luc Picard!

24: A song by a band you wish were still together:


I loved these guys. I know some of their songs are “problematic” but I loved these guys

25: A song by an artist no longer living:


We miss you, David. I hope wherever you are now, you’re enjoying the next great adventure.

26: A song that makes you want to fall in love:

27: A song that breaks your heart:

28: A song by an artist with a voice that you love:

29: A song that you remember from your childhood:

30: A song that reminds you of yourself:


Sadly, this is… what my marriage has felt like.

And because I think this AMV shows brilliantly how a song and images can mesh:


No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.