Bloodwork in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Nov. 21, 2019, 8:46 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Took the BFF (dog) in for pre-surgery bloodwork today. Everything came back normal. All of his everything looks good. No blood sugar issues, kidney issues , liver issues, or cushing’s disease to worry of and his body is strong enough to make it through the surgery just fine. So right now I’m riding on a wave of optimism. The thing is as hard as a fucking rock, but maybe its a non-cancerous rock blob that poses no threat.

I had an interesting time while at the vet’s office though. There was a woman there going through a really rough time. She was emotionally unloading and saying things like “I work 70 hours a week to keep up with my dogs’ vet bills, and I don’t think I’ll be able to do it much longer. I’m almost ready to rehome them” and “I should have just given them to the lady I met in the park the other day” and “I just got my finances up and now they’re about to go back down”. My dog would throw in whimpers at the most dramatic moments of her unloading, and I would look at him like “You aren’t part of this conversation, keep your judgments to yourself”. She was mostly venting to the ladies behind the counter (the people who were about to charge her) but she was sitting next to me and talking to me also. She said its been really hard for her to afford them after her recent divorce from her husband but they’re like her kids, and she couldn’t imagine not having them. I felt SOOO BADDD for this lady and her two dogs because I, too, wanted nothing out of my divorce except for the dog. I didn’t even ask her what was wrong with them because I was too busy trying to think of something “right” to say. But I did make a firm decision that I could NEVER work behind the front counter at a vet’s office. They handled her really well though and offered her suggestions for “safe havens” rescue groups for older dogs or dogs with health issues if she decided to go that route.

Anywho, this is probably the last dog-related surgery update I’ll have until Monday.


Last updated November 21, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.