Surgery is scheduled in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Nov. 19, 2019, 10:49 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

About 45 minutes after I posted my last entry, the vet’s office sent me the estimate for my dog’s potential biopsy/debulking surgery. Although still pricey, it wasn’t the $2,500 I expected to see. The estimate lists everything they plan on using/administering/servicing during the surgery and they are estimating it to be a partial day surgery costing between $1169.77 and $1353.24. Its these moments that remind me why I keep my PTO balance high and don’t take vacations. Although, the ONE 4-day vacation I’ve booked in over a year to visit the family is, ya know, next week for Thanksgiving. Remarkable timing. So I thought about the pricing and timing for a few hours. My friend who is watching my dog while I’m in Wisconsin is fine with watching him in a post-op drugged up state (she probably prefers it, he’s a high energy dog otherwise, while healthy anyway).

So I called them back and said I would like to move forward with the surgery. If nothing else and it does turn out to be cancer, at least the tumor was lessened in size for the time being and it won’t affect his gait when he walks (for the time being). The surgery is monday the 25th; I’ll still be here. He has to go in this Thursday for the bloodwork to make sure he can handle the surgery; the cost of that was included in the estimate as well. So I’m “good boy”-ing him and praising him like crazy in the meantime because he doesn’t know what’s coming.

I basically just need to know what it is for peace of mind and I’m glad they are taking what they can out. I could have waited until after Thanksgiving, but I’d just kind of like to get it over with and the vet had the opening and it was “cheaper” than what I was expecting so…

His spirits definitely rebounded some though with all the “Who’s a good boy?! who’s a good boy?! you’re a good boy!!”, so I’ll take what I can get.


Last updated November 19, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.