Going with the flow in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Nov. 19, 2019, 10:18 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I haven’t got the cost estimate of the biopsy surgery from the vet’s office yet, so that’s slightly annoying. Although when the vet called me yesterday morning she did say they’d send it either yesterday or today. I was hoping I’d get it yesterday, but since she said “or Tuesday” they aren’t late. But if they don’t email it today, I’ll email them tomorrow. NOT that I want to get the surgery done super quickly or anything.

I’m trying to map out my thought process on how much this could potentially cost (since they haven’t given me the estimate and my mind LOVES to wander). So I’ve been perusing the internet. Internet said the biopsy (including bloodwork beforehand, anesthesia, the procedure itself and assuming the procedure is extensive, which I am since she said she want to “debulk” the tumor while she’s in there), and a possible overnight stay depending on if he needs to stay overnight could run upwards of $2,500.

Now if the biopsy comes back as cancerous, that’s another can of worms, according to “trusty” internet. If its cancer, there are a few different possible treatment methods, but only after they perform X-Rays and possible CT Scans/MRI to “stage” the cancer (see how far along it is). Amputation of the leg, which relieves pain only ($3,500) and/or chemotherapy are the two main treatments. I have not found an internet estimate of chemotherapy because chemotherapy treatment varies per dog/length of treatment. NOW, with either method of treatment, there’s a 99% chance the dog still dies from the cancer. Because “trusty” internet said that by the time bone cancer is suspected, the cancer has already metastasized/spread to the lungs and found a comfy home there. Because he’s shown increased panting for a few months, I’m assuming he’s at that stage. Amputation and/or chemo (they recommend both for extending life expectancy/quality of life) will not be a cure, only a “delay of death”.

So like, because I have nothing concrete to work with and I’m assuming the worst, this is what my brain has been going through. I don’t think he’d be a candidate for amputation because she said his hips do seem arthritic, and I can’t imagine losing that leg would make the other leg very happy at this point. Do I drain my life savings/go into possible debt just to extend the end game? No, I just.....can’t do that. You may judge me if you are wealthy. I might judge back though.

I acted super happy last night when I got home from work and gave him all the “good boys” in the world and that seemed to brighten his spirits quite a bit. My coworker mentioned that maybe he’s refusing to go into the car because he thinks he’s going back to the vet and not because he’s in too much pain to lift himself in. So I’m going to go with my coworker’s theory until I know more.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.