NJM18: Wow. in These Foolish Things

  • Nov. 18, 2019, 10:53 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I’m back in North Carolina attending another trade show for the Home Decor market. I’m ashamed to admit that I didn’t know one of the Queer Eye guys when I met him at a party tonight. Lord. I just played it off and he was fine and gracious, but Ughhhhh!

I’m back in my room after the longest day ever. First, getting up at 3:25am, then flying into rainy and cold North Carolina and meeting all afternoon with my fabric mill. Then off to this networking cocktail party which is always before the PARTY of the YEAR at one of the big companies that I can’t afford to do business with. But that’s okay because since the first year I started coming to this show (three years ago) and I met this old-school designer guy, I’m always invited to the party of the year. It NEVER disappoints and I never realize that I’m meeting the TOP people in the industry until I leave the party and drive to my hotel and figure this shit out!

So. Tonight I gave my biz card to the president of this company and he made me promise to come see him tomorrow, so I will…at some point. I have a 9am meeting and then a 1pm meeting and then we’ll see. I’ll prob show up and say hello to the pres and hopefully hang out in the showroom for a bit and then tell him that I can’t afford any of his stuff.

We’ll see.

But so far so good. It’s been a good, if not cold and rainy day and I must get to bed and prep myself for tomorrow’s crazy day that lies ahead of me.

I’m happy tonight. I have a great job and I DO a great job. I’m buzzed and happy. Time to sleeeeep.

xox,
GS


The Thirsty Oriental November 18, 2019

One of the QE guys? Oh no! haha

Complicated Disaster November 19, 2019

Networking is what it's all about! Good work! Xx

Satine November 19, 2019

You rock! Good luck today <3

plushcreep November 19, 2019

Buzzed and happy is a good combo. I find they're frequently related, too. Hope you have a productive rest of your trip!

Jinn November 20, 2019

I never watch that show but I need to check it out. Have a great trip !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.