Dog Update in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Nov. 15, 2019, 6:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Took the furchild to his vet appointment and did not have the kind of appointment I was expecting. Ever since the “overdoing” it on the dog walk a few weeks ago which was followed by his leg locking/stiffening up and inability to get into the car/onto the bed on his own strength for a few days, I’ve been hyperaware of everything. The increased panting and drinking of water to name a few. I thought maybe Cushings disease or diabetes or even heart disease. These past 2-3 days though he’s been acting “normal” again though, so then I got paranoid about my original paranoia and thought “oh he’s probably just fine and I jumped the gun on scheduling his appointment. its probably just old age arthritis.”

Y’all.

The vet was feeling around on his body (and keep in mind that i’m pretty regular about taking him in for his annual checkups) and she gets to his back leg and she’s like “How long has he had this tumor?” And I was like “WHAT?!” I legit was in shock. He has a fatty, soft, non-cancerous lump on his rib cage side that was tested a few years ago, and its super obvious to the world that it’s there, but this thing....looks and feels nothing like it. Its on the inside of his leg, hard, and wrapped around the bone so that it looks like a muscle; it doesn’t have the shape of an obvious lump. I’ve never looked at the inside of both of his legs (think groin area) to realize “man, this right groin area has a bunch of muscle that his left leg doesn’t”. But now that she’s pointed it out and I’ve felt the dang thing, its obvious to me.

So they shaved some hair off him, took a sample out him and sent it in for testing. She didn’t seem super confident about it. She said if its what she thinks it is, it will be too large and embedded in his bone to operate on. Guys, I about broke down. When they took the sample of the fatty lump a few years ago they were like “in my 35 years of practicing veterinary medicine, these sort of lumps turn out to be lipomas (non-cancerous).” that positive vibe was not there today.

He’s also gained 9lbs since last year, but they didn’t give me a weight lecture. They told me he still looks he right size, but to cut back on walks. If they’d given me a weight lecture and a diet regimen to follow, I’d have felt like they felt he had a healthy future to plan for if mom could just get with the program.

They will call me next Monday or Tuesday with the results. I’m trying not to stress about it in the meantime. But its literally all I can think about.


Last updated November 15, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.