Sick feelings in Bittersweet

  • Nov. 12, 2019, 4:15 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Little girl felt sick last night. She sat down in the middle of the store and started crying to go home. Shes a 5 year old who loves shopping. You know something is wrong when shes crying to go home. I ended up carrying her out to the car. She felt slightly warm. By the time we got her home, i knew she wasnt feeling good at all. She ended up running a 103 degree fever. But in fabulous my kid fashion is 100% fine today. She may spike another fever tonight, we will see. So far so good though. I gave some ibrprofin to take the edge off the sick and she slept from 5 pm to 9 am.
Thankfully my kids have all been wonderful when sick. They pretty much sleep it off. With a couple small exceptions. When Lo had whopping cough. There was a huge outbreak and he was too young for his vaccination. It wouldent have mattered the outbreak was the strain that isnt covered by the vaccine and a lot of vaccinated kids got it that year. Let me tell you. you do NOT want your kids getting whooping cough. Its miserable for MONTHS! When Missy girl and Ch got Pneumonia. Those lasted a bit longer. And they were scary. The year Ch was born was when the swine flu was hitting hard. he was not even a month when he got it. Again nothing you can do to help it. He went from 7 lbs to 5 lbs and was hospitalized. But mostly my kids dont get the flu, they dont get sick. And if they do they can sleep it off pretty quick. We are lucky. I boost their immune systems with healthy foods and vitamins all season long. and the minute someone starts getting peckish, i make home made chicken soup. I make a bomb ass soup haha.
I wonder how healthy the nephews are. If they get sick easy. With only one of 7 kids in public school this year. That should help lol. Not exposed to what grandpa called snotty nose kid disease. IE the petri dish of public school.
Although my kids are really missing public school now. I told them they have to finish this year homeschooled and then maybe next year. The whole reason for homeschooling was so we can travel as we want to. and not be restricted by public school constraints ( hours and days) Plus their school takes about 2 hours a day which is awesome. Now we can take trips to all the local attractions and scenery without worry about missing days. Little girl on the other hand isnt enjoying hers as much. Its workbooks and its been a fight this week. I think ill have her papa try some with her ( grandpa) she loves her papa. Sometimes coming from a different adult helps too.

Anywho i better go, we have to do a mini costco trip and talk to a man about buying a cow…
no really. we are going to buy a whole cow, butchered… meat is 15 a lb at the store and this way its only 4 a lb. But we have to buy at least 1/4 a cow haha. Ill take it ;)


Jinn November 13, 2019

I hope you have big freezer ! :-)
Josh, my oldest son was always wonderfully healthy. Blake, my youngest was sick all the time ; born with a heart defect and had life threatening asthma. The asthma still crops up now and then :-(.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 13, 2019

We just bought another one!! So now we have 2 full freezers 2 fridge freezer combos.
Sorry for your boy :( We have asthma in the family too. Mine is mild, But im feeling it more with this altitude now.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 13, 2019

Blake has had two respiratory arrests in the past . Luckily he pulled through both of them. The first one was when he was three ;-(
I would say you do have a lot of freezer room! I have one drawer with two small shelves and it’s always a challenge to fit a weeks worth of meat etc.. in it . A person has to be creative :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 13, 2019

oh gosh that would be so scarry.
We are really creative with leftovers haha. I like having a really good pantry though. If its not meat then base foods and staples. I was homeless and had next to no food for a time and now im a food hoarder.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 13, 2019

Frank says I am a food hoarder but I am not. I just try to replace things or also buy one extra of whatever we use . To me that is just sensible.

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ November 13, 2019

I LOVE having food, I hate having to go to the store to get something i wanted for dinner.
Like tonight i wanted pumpkin bread after dinner. And we didnt have the stuff for cream cheese frosting. I would have had it in my house. But my mom dosent. Ugh. But i have the stuff for pumpkin bread.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ November 13, 2019

I am the same way . I hate going to the cupboard and finding I am out of something.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.