Dog issues in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Nov. 7, 2019, 8 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

I scheduled a vet appointment for my dog for not this Friday, but next - the 15th (their soonest available for non-emergencies). I’m just not getting a good vibe from him lately. Although he has been able to jump up on the bed since the leg stiffening & locking episode, he hasn’t went out of his way to do it more than just that one time. I took him for a drive the other night and getting him in the car again was difficult even though we hadn’t been walking. All we’d done was walk down the stairs from the apartment and to the car which was like 10 yards away. I’m also now hyperaware of EVERYTHING.

I’ve been conveniently shelving his increased panting (while at rest/in the middle of the night) as nothing really to worry about. Also his increased thirst. He hasn’t had any accidents and still comes to get me when he needs to go outside, but we can no longer make it through the middle of the night without a potty break. We used to be able to make it through without any issues if I took him out for his evening potty break around 11pm. Now at about 5 am every morning its “PANT, PANT, PANT, Mom, I NEED to go outside. Now.” And the panting doesn’t go away after he’s relieved himself. The interesting thing is, I’m gone for work 10-11ish hours a day if you take commute time and work time combined (and sometimes kickboxing) and he has no issues. He also is pretty good about not drinking all of his water while I’m gone. But when I get home? Game on. I fill up both (yes, both) of his water dishes a few times during the evening and night.

Seeing as how there have yet to be any actual accidents and the fact that he can control himself for those 10-11ish hours, I hadn’t really been thinking a whole lot of it. But this leg issue has thrown a wrench in my thinking, and now I need to get him looked at, if not only for my own worries. Yeah, the waking up in the middle of the night part sucks, but I can suck that up easily enough if it turns out to be nothing bigger than regular doggie aging. Of course I consulted Dr. Google, which is never a good idea. Dr. Google is pointing towards Cushing’s Disease. At least after next Friday I’ll have a more concrete idea of what’s going on.

So we’ll see. Also, its an excuse to miss a little work. I know I’m not entitled to complain about the subject of work since I just got that raise when I had the prime opportunity and intention on quitting, but I want to SOO BADLY have a vent session. I’ve been watching a lot of Youtube videos lately about people complaining about their jobs with the hopes that their complaining makes me feel better about my job. Not sure that method is working though.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.