On a Thursday in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Oct. 24, 2019, 7:32 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I did end up going to the Wednesday night running group yesterday. I’m finding that the best way to conquer the anxiety about showing up at events and meeting new people is to just not think about it as much as humanly possible. Because the second I start thinking about it, is the same second that I come up with a HUGE mental list of reasons why I shouldn’t go.

It was a fun time. Saw some of the same faces that I saw two weeks ago when I first went. The one girl said she skipped last week too, so that made me feel better about my fair weather running. She’s easy to talk to. She was talking about how she went on a job interview that she thought went REALLY well, how she’s perfect for the job, and has amazing references to back her up, but its been a week since the interview and she hasn’t heard anything. She’s super bummed and I tried to play the “oh it’s only been a week, give ‘em another week before you let the defeat kick in” but I’m almost positive nothing I said gave her any comfort. I’m hoping next week she has a happy update, but I’m not going to bring the topic up unless she does first. Because I know how much it sucks when you think you’ve given one of your best interviews ever and then you hear nothing (and how much the job hunting process is in general!)

I also went to the dentist for the first time in… a few years today. No cavities! They said for as long as its been since I was last in, I’ve kept my teeth in pretty good shape. My “room for improvement” is of course flossing and cutting back on the energy drinks. I got no gold stars for sticking with the sugar free energy drinks. They said its the acid they are concerned about. But, if that’s the worst they could nitpick on, I’ll take it. I thought for sure they were going to tell me that something huge was wrong with me. This was a new dentist and hygienist that I’ve never been to, and I was pretty impressed. They didn’t try to sell me on anything I didn’t need, but they did mention they weren’t impressed by the dentist who did my braces back in 6th/7th grade. I’m pretty sure I was forced into braces too early while my teeth were still developing and yeah, in small town WI, I don’t think my mom had many options for who to take us to. We bounced between two different ones every couple of years depending on the insurance we had a the time. So yeah, it was like 2 dentists for our available selections, and then insurance bumped it down to 1 or the other it seemed. But I do think they put me in them too early. But, no cavities and I have an appointment scheduled 6 months from now for another cleaning.

Anywho, after that I was tempted to take the rest of the day off and just take 8 hours of PTO. My new patient exam was from 9am-10:15, which is where they go over the history, take x-rays, do a perio chart, yadda yadda yadda. Then she said she had a cancellation at noon, so if I wanted to, I could come back for the actual cleaning appointment at noon, so I said sure. I went for a nice walk at a nearby park in between appointments and texted work to let them know I wouldn’t be in until at least 1pm. I was sooooo tempted to just take the whole day off though. SO tempted.


Last updated October 24, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.