You Can't Push It Under Ground in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Oct. 21, 2019, 6:03 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Time is running out.

After a hell of a week last week and a hell of a week in front of me, on Friday morning I woke up and decided “Nope.” Not going to be “awake.” So I slept through most of Friday and Saturday. Woke up on Sunday and did as much as I could manage. Made a 4 serving breakfast, cleaned up some of the basement… but Wife stopped me because she wanted to go through the boxes. Oookay. The boxes that have just been sitting down here strewn about the tables for the last 8 months? SURE. Glad to see the “I’m moving these boxes” is when you finally decide to look through them. Then went to play practice. Met Co-Star’s man, husband I think. Honestly, the guy looks like a douche. That isn’t MRA/Incel/Nice Guy statement coming out. I mean between the hair (color and cut) and mustache.... and the fact that he just sort of walked around and interrupted rehearsal with his presence… that made me think he looks like a douche. Also, I must admit, it didn’t help that despite my co-star being probably 5‘4, he is easily 6‘2. Not that it matters. Just… in this world, it is apparently still a thing. I heard it in High School… I heard it in College… I hear it on Dating Apps… there is a significant and strong bias against men under 6 feet and it pisses me off.

Anyway… after play practice, Wife and I walked the dog. Then I called my parents. WOW! Apparently it had been a month since I’d last spoken to my parents. While that may be nothing to some, that is a long time for me. It was a good conversation. Mom and Dad telling me that my love and heart for service is appreciated. Telling me that they would NEVER encourage me to get divorced but are accepting if that is the direction things go. Telling me that I have really proved my heart in this life lately. It was… kind of rough, actually. Because I hear what they are saying. They are saying, “You’ve done everything you can. Now you have to wait. And after whatever amount of waiting you think is appropriate, you have a decision to make.” That and they told me that neither one of them will be coming to my house warming party. So… of the 20 people I invited… my parents can’t come, none of my DnD friends can come… so the guest list is MBFITWW, a friend from high-school and her husband and child, possibly my brother and sister-in-law and niece, and Wife’s parents and her mom’st friend. So whether it is fair to say or not… I’m not looking forward to this party as much as I otherwise would. I mean… 7 of the people I most wanted to come, aren’t. I just… I’m worried the whole damned thing is going to be a bust now.

So after that news, I went back upstairs and decided… I didn’t WANT to cook another meal. Wife spends all of her time doing homework or watching movies or playing games on her tablet. So I basically said, I wasn’t going to cook the spaghetti. And I waited. Until I got hungry at about 8:00. And finally said, “Okay, I’ll go cook a skillet meal!” So I went and cooked the dinner. URGH.

One thing my Dad suggested: Wife lacks the ability to perceive what is going on around her. She doesn’t see a need and act. She simply exists. Thus, specific, direct, articulated requests may work best. Instead of being upset that she never helps, I should specifically ask her to do something. I’ll try that this week. See if I can’t see some positive change.

Because hand to CHRIST, between my jury trial and play practice this week? If I also have to be responsible for cleaning the house and cooking dinners and everything else? I mean… fuck sake. I had 7 hearings today. 4 of them involving little children abused by drug addicted parents; 3 of them involving children molesting, raping or otherwise sexually assaulting other children. That is just TODAY. AND that is just the hearings. That doesn’t include the 4 voicemails waiting for me after the hearings or the 9 e-mails I need to return before leaving work today. Then after leaving work, I need to run lines somehow because today is deadline for all of Act 1 Off Book. Then play practice. So I won’t even be back home until 8:00 tonight. So cooking dinner and cleaning the house really CAN’T fall squarely on my shoulders.

And the week continues that way. Tuesday and Friday will be the only two days of any kind of “breather” and it isn’t much of one. SO… lets hope I can get Wife on board with the cooking food and helping clean train. I’ll worry about the “path of celibacy” concerns later. Though… I certainly have a lot of notes already for that counseling session.


Always Laughing October 21, 2019

Hope the directly giving her things to do helps.

One Angry Dwarf October 21, 2019 (edited October 21, 2019)

Edited

Okay, I know I defended you re: the height thing earlier because I HAVE heard women say they want dudes to be taller than them, but you can't just assume she got MARRIED to someone because of his height. And I know plenty of women who are dating men under 6'. I know a dude who spent his summer meeting 3 or more women a week on dating sites--that's not an exaggeration, dude practically dated half the city--who is probably 5'6", maybe shorter.

I feel like this is negativity bias coming into play, here. You're gonna hear the handful of people who claim they need to date someone 6' more than the millions of women who don't give a shit, because they don't... say anything about it at all?

My boyfriend is under 6'. Last year I dated a guy who was about 5'8". I dated someone several years ago who was 5'2". I'm also casually seeing someone who is 6'6".

You probably wouldn't notice me if I was with any of those other dudes, but if you saw me with the giant, you'd be like "See?! WOMEN ALL WANT SOMEONE OVER 6 FEET."

I get it. I feel myself doing the same thing when I see nerdy guys dating blonde women with big boobs. "SEE, MEN ONLY CARE ABOUT APPEARANCE," the bitter part of my brain shouts. I have to remind myself that, like... lots of dudes have dated me, too? And none of them have left me as soon as someone with bigger tits and better hair came along, so obviously it's not a SOCIETY-WIDE bias.

Park Row Fallout One Angry Dwarf ⋅ October 21, 2019

Fair point. As ever, my lack of experience plays a factor as well. When rejection or no-action is the standard... and I only have a small pool to review from people who actually said yes to me... there's less strength to fall back on

Perpetually Plump October 21, 2019

I have a 16 year old daughter. I get upset with her, because she doesn't ever see things and take care of them. I didn't realize that that was not something she had ever developed. So, it's one of those things we are now working on in life. I'm helping her notice signals that something needs to be done. For instance, our dogs have a fountain that makes noise and when it's low you can hear the pump. so I've started asking her to listen for it, or when I hear it I'll call her in the living room and speak to her and say hey do you hear that? And accuse her to listen for the pump. this morning, we heard it make its noise, and she goes oh that noise and immediately got up and filled the dog's water. The other thing that has helped her is that I made a chore chart for her with specific chores on specific days. So she knows she has to do laundry on Sunday. She knows she has to empty the house garbage cans on Tuesday and Friday, etc. I know it's a pain in the ass, but I also had to do this with other adults. Some people just live in their own bubble.

Pennyworth's Ghost October 21, 2019

I actually think it's less the direct request and more the 'please' and 'thank you' that helps get things done.

Down the rabbit hole... October 22, 2019

Just ugh... if you wanted a child to fucking babysit you'd have one. You shouldn't have to tell an adult what to do.

With regards to the tall guy thing... that's fucking stupid. Most women, or at least the ones worth dating could mostly care less. I've dated shorter guys (5'6 or so) and my current bf is around 6 or 6'1. I like his personality.... I don't care how tall he is. I think you're generally more caught up on appearances than you should be.

Foofah October 22, 2019

I never had a strict rule about height but because I'm 5'8, I felt insecure if I dated anyone shorter than me. My Husband is 5'6 and he's the best man I've ever been with. I find if you go out of your comfort zone/"type" you're often surprised! I've never turned a guy down for a date because of his height but I can admit that I did have a preference for taller men. It wasn't anything against them, it was entirely due to my insecurity about how tall I am.

Purple Dawn October 22, 2019

I'm glad your parents are so supportive.
Enjoy your housewarming party with the people that show up. Hosting can be a lot of fun!

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.