alive in Bittersweet

  • Oct. 18, 2019, 6:24 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

We have arrived.
7 days of travel. I blew 3 tires total on the trailer. 7 rabbits alive, 5 kids survived.
We are slowly settling in at my mothers. Well unpacking still. Working on it at least.
Dogs however, not so great.
My male and my sisters Male are not doing well. My male is afraid of hers. He is a wolf hybrid. I thought the females would be the issue, but its the males… So stressful. Right now we are crating one in the living room and leaving the other loose. Hopefully it wont take long, But we only got her late late last night.
For dinner for 14. I made 5 lbs burger, 2 lbs mushrooms, 3 lbs pasta, 3 lbs assorted veggies. 4 cans green beans and 3 family size jars of sauce. For sketti…
There were no leftovers.
Im omging…


Jinn October 19, 2019

It’s going to be an adjustment . Hopefully you all can get your own place soon . I have to keep my pit pretty much separated from my two tiny, old poodles. I just do not trust her with them .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 19, 2019

see my pit is doing great! She looks at the wolf mix like hes an irritating puppy when hes barking. Its my boarder collie having an issue! And he loves dogs. Like he met strangers dogs today and loved them.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 19, 2019

Certain dogs just do not click . :-( but maybe they will get used to each other . It takes a bit .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 19, 2019

God i hope so.
At night we are kenneling them in wire kennels next to one another. Cosmo is on his back. and rama is laying up next to cosmos pen. But let them out and its a fight.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 20, 2019

It takes at least a month. Maybe more . You have to juggle them for awhile . It doesn’t hurt them to be crated first short intervals. It becomes their “ safe” place . When they are out together they both may need to be leashed until this is under control. Reinforce with treats but they need to be given them at exactly the same time. They start to associate being around each other with being given treats :-)

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 20, 2019

So crated last night. Cosmo was on his back, and Rama was laying up against cosmos side of the crate. Both calm but once we open those doors.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 20, 2019

If it’s the wolf mix that is the aggressor, it could be they are trying to establish the pecking order for the pack . Are they both males ?

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 20, 2019

Yes and both are unaltered.
I was walking them last night and had my female next to my sisters hybrid. And out of no where he went for her neck. Shes 5 and give no fucks about it.
Its really frustrating because my my male is being SUPER scared and hers is doing the pecking order, but we cant risk him hurting my dog either. My sister said there is a behavioral specilist trainer at petco that may have some ideas for us.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 20, 2019

Wolf hybrids are pretty aggressive. :-( No, you do not want to take any chances with your dog . ...just curious , is the wolf hybrid housebroken? I read somewhere that they can not be housebroken but my Grandfather told me he had one when he was a boy and it went in and out of the house .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ October 20, 2019

He is housebroken. Hes good with kids too. Its other dogs that he is aggressive twords. He uses the dog door but is mostly inside except when we go on walks or potty. He looks like a wolf though. His legs are so wolf haha. His face looks malimute some, and thats what my sister tells people he is. Some ask if he is a hybrid and she usually says yes if they ask. But most ask if he is a husky. He is very pretty.
We talked to the trainer and he said we are doing what we can already. Going to sit them in a fenced area as far apart as we can get till they get desensitized to one another.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ October 20, 2019

Sounds like a plan. Looks like my Grandfather was right ; they can be housebroken!

Jinn October 19, 2019

So glad you all arrived safely !

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.