A Personal Issue in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Oct. 16, 2019, 8:21 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well, sometimes things can go from Zero to One Hundred.

My day got super busy. Phone calls, investigations, plea deals, trial dates, filing charges… very busy. And so there were some things I needed to “punt”.

-Here’s what I would do with this charge; but if we do that… we might get SIGNIFICANT blow back from the public.... wait until Boss is free to verify or see if he has any creative ideas.
- Our officers didn’t write a detailed report on this charge and everyone has a different story. Please call them to set up a meeting to discuss the case with them.
- This charge needs to be amended to a lesser included, I’d do the paper work but I need to answer that phone call, please get it done.
- I appreciate that the victim wants the charges dropped because she’s in love; but the dispatch recording of the phone call clearly picked up the Defendant screaming “I will fucking kill you, bitch” so no tell her I can’t just dismiss the case because she’s in love.
- I’m filing these charges against some kids who beat up a security guard, can you return this phone call to the Juvenile Court Officer to let her know that I have received the information but we’re modifying the charge to fit the facts?
- Parents won’t let us talk to their daughter, though the parents are the ones demanding we ‘aggressively pursue’ the adult she was having sex with. There’s literally nothing I can do in this case if they won’t give us access to the victim. Please call them, then we’ll need to talk to Boss to see if he can’t help us out.

So… busy… but asking my (ALSO BUSY) staff to help out… while they are already helping Boss… while (ALSO BUSY) Boss is taking care of his own cases. It just… feels like a weird place to be.
Typically, things are slow. I do my work with enough advance that I’m set for emergencies if those cases implode. But when we get a bunch of stuff all at once? Or things implode within enough of a succession? Yikes!! Hopefully, the staff knows I’m not “relying on them because I’m lazy” or “relying on them without appreciation.” Hell, without them, I’d be handling everything how I did in Tiny Town.... which was significantly worse! So… yeah. Guess I have to get over feeling bad about asking for help and just trust that they’ll understand that their help is an integral part of how this office works.

Also- the reason I tend to write everything down. Because I literally cannot remember details about a phone call I had earlier. I’m trying really hard… no idea. Stupid… brain.


You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.