Random thoughts and hiking pictures in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Oct. 15, 2019, 1:22 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Sometimes I think the perfect job for me would be a packing/sorting/warehouse type job where I just did the same repetitive job everyday, but would constantly be physically active. But then I think to myself “what are you thinking?” I don’t know why that sounds so attractive to me some days. Maybe the not having to worry about answering phone calls from unhappy people or delivering unhappy financials to the Powers That Be are what steer my thought processes that way. Like how cool would it be to be left alone where you know exactly what needs to get done every day, how it needs to get done and when it needs to be done by and then be left alone? In my mind that is what an packing/sorting/warehouse job is, but I have never actually done a job like that, so this is all fantasy. It would also be a pay cut (more so now), so don’t think I’m about to make any impulsive decisions. I think I’m just tired of sitting and my voicemail inbox was full and I’m super proud of myself for finally deleting all of the old messages, none of which I listened to.

Sunday I ended up going for a hike to Lake of the Angels in Olympic National Forest. I wasn’t even planning on going for a hike when I woke up Sunday morning, but the weather was nice and I realized I had nothing better to do. Plus I didn’t want to end up hating myself for wasting a beautiful fall day.

lake

lake 2

The hike is only 7 miles round trip, but it ended up taking my 5 hours to complete. There was 3400 feet of elevation gain and two rock wall scrambles. The second one had this nifty rope. More experienced people probably don’t need to use the rope, but I did. Especially on the way back down.

rope

I also took my attention off where I was stepping for one second too long towards the top of the hike and sank ankle deep into a mudhole:

muddy shoes

I think its supposed to start a week of rain starting tomorrow, so that’s fun. I signed up for another 10k this Saturday and a 5k at the end of the month. Those are the only two races I’ve committed myself to for the time being. IF it doesn’t rain tomorrow, I’m going to go to the Wednesday night running group. If it does rain, I’m probably going to hold off and check out another, different running group on Thursday. They only have 3 group runs left before they end their season though. I’m a fair weather runner, I’ll freely admit to that. Same goes for hiking.


Last updated October 15, 2019


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.