A Kettle of Fish in Book Six: Trying to Hold On 2019

  • Oct. 14, 2019, 11:46 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Here’s a kettle of fish:

Today is a rare, strange, and bizarre Monday for work. Typically, I would have Juvenile Court as last week there was no Juvenile Court and going more than two weeks between Juvenile Court days is rather strange for this county. I suppose that speaks to the adaptability of the human brain. In Tiny Town, Juvenile Court was only once a month. With the Chinese, if ever/whenever I would do Juvenile Court it was “any day”. But now after 15 1/2 months, my new normal has already been established. And that new normal includes a Juvenile Court Day at least once every three weeks. I do have Juvenile Court scheduled for next Monday; so we’ll be at the Month (every 4 weeks) marker but… as that has been rare it is interesting to reflect on.

So, with my schedules being upended and twisted around some… the only thing on my Work Calendar for today is to send a few e-mails in anticipation of hearings on October 24th. That is my entire day. Summarized as Be proactive in your efforts to take care of October 24th, as what happens on October 24th directly informs what happens on November 7th. So, yeah. My professional day is Future Looking.

As for this evening? A rare break from play rehearsal. All the better, in some ways. We’re supposed to have Friday and Saturday off with rehearsals on Sunday through Thursday. Yet, our Sunday rehearsals are never “full cast” because two (or more) individuals always call out. Yet another significant difference from my old days to now. In High School we did not have understudies (though we had the numbers and need). If you missed a certain number of rehearsals (or certain specific rehearsals) you were sacked and replaced. In other theater endeavors, Understudies were present and acted as both a constant reminder that anyone could be replaced and as a way to make certain rehearsals could continue unimpeded by absences. Small Town Community Theater? Has no such backups. Two people are missing? The director will do their lines, we’ll have to pretend they are on set, and we go forward with rehearsal. However, two people missing when the play is six adults and one child? That’s a significant percentage of cast missing from rehearsals. That being said, our director has no rehearsal tonight because it is Columbus Day. ::eye roll:: I don’t hold ill will towards the woman, she’s in her 60s or 70s, and the meaning of this day holds little importance for her other than an expected day off. Clearly, as I am working, it is not a Day Off. Where this becomes far more unfortunate, however, is when we look to November 11th. Veterans Day. THAT IS a day where the county government is off. As a show of support for our veterans and in an effort to provide, for vets working in government, a day for them to be with family. As we see it: They sacrificed time away from loved ones for years, we owe them at least one day a year as thanks. However, as that day is three days before the Play is to be performed for the public… we will have play rehearsal that day. Again: Entirely understandable for practical purposes.... but symbolically? REALLY problematic. “Time off for Christopher Columbus, the mass murdering rapist; No time off for Veterans.”

But as I have the evening off, that gives me the opportunity to attempt to be productive and helpful. Though, as always, we’ll see what Wife’s homework situation looks like to see how successful the household will be.
(1) Nala Walk. Oi, the girl is starting to get mouthy and not listen. And I get it! I really do. She’s 10 months old… is like a 5 year old human… and spends most of her days at home with Mamma who isn’t often playing with her because Mamma has homework and other stuff to do besides spend all her time with Nala. “Meanwhile, Daddy is gone from 7:30 to 5:00, comes home for a minute, leaves again, and doesn’t come back home until 8:00. Yeah, Daddy plays with me for about an hour but when I want to keep running around and barking at 9… Daddy tries to calm me down! No fun!!” So… I get it. But at the same time? I mean… well… an example: Wife and I went on a date night on Friday to celebrate her excellent grades. We came home to the following:
alt text

That is Nala laying next to the phone book. Granted, who uses a phone book these days… but yeah. Wife was looking through it to decide where she wanted to eat, left it on the sofa. Which is okay, normally. Nala doesn’t really go through the separation anxiety like she did when she was younger. She typically handles Date Nights and Errands fairly well. But… she’s in her PAY ATTENTION TO ME phase (likely partially inspired by my new “out of the house for play practice” schedule conflict) so she’s significantly acting out.

So… I can make sure today that Nala gets a walk. And I’m very sincere that I don’t care about outside conditions anymore. Nala may hate the rain, but she’ll need to start having walks regardless. And cold? Still interested to see how the skinny little one handles the cold, but she’ll need to walk through that as well. It is currently 46 degrees, likely to be 56 degrees by the time I return from work. That isn’t cold but those days are coming. If not this month, than certainly next month.

(2) I need to contact Subway about Party Sub reservations. True, of the 18 people I invited, I’ve only received “Will Attend” responses from 9 people. But even if only half of those invited can come, I still wish to make sure I can feed them and be a good host.

(3) Along the same lines, I need to speak with Wife about home preparations. True, we need to do things like Clean and Vacuum but we also need to do things like Install Light Fixture in Kitchen and Repair Leaky Water Pipe in Laundry Room. So… projects both big and small required.

(4) Finally, I need to rehash some recipe discussions and grocery lists. While it is true (thankfully) that I broke past my 220 plateau, I keep bouncing between 214 and 218. I know all the statements about health and confidence and all of that, and I appreciate it. But I would REALLY like to get below 200 pounds before the new year! That would at least bring me down from the Obese classification. From there, I can work towards getting to where I’d REALLY like to be… which would be around 160 lbs. IF I hit that… that’d be good. And if I hit that and maintained it through to 2021? That would mean in two years I had lost over 5 stone. Which would be amazing. And… I’m now certain… could be possible. These last few weeks, I’ve not been brilliant with watching my diet. What with play rehearsal and jury trial and stress (about child sex cases, schedules, and therapy)… my diet really has reverted to “eat what you can grab!” Despite that, I’ve stayed under 220!! So there’s the hope. Re-dedicate to healthy eating, meal planning/prep, and going forward with smart food choices. Re-dedicate to walks and exercise when possible. Really just… push myself forward in terms of continued health and dedication towards losing the weight.

And then with the remaining time in tonight’s schedule? Who knows? Play with the dog? Go to the grocery store? Run lines with Wife? Or track Tyreen Calypso down and end her once and for all? Something.

Things somewhat pick up after today, though. Tomorrow will be hearings and Magistrate Prep and Play Practice. Wednesday will be a Sexual Assault seminar involving considerable travel. And play practice. Thursday will be prepping Sexual Assault Survivors for Jury Trial and Magistrate Court. And play practice. Friday will be… kind of played by ear. So that’s what I’ve got! :)


hippiechica15 October 14, 2019

10 months old is PEAK puppy misbehaving!!! I would leave nothing on the couch...you never know what she'll decide to take as hers. But it is prime time to start teaching her good leash behavior.

Foofah October 15, 2019

Congrats on pushing past the plateau!

I had a pit bull puppy. I spent a whole day spring cleaning my house. When I finished I went to the store quick for a fountain soda. Came home and she had chewed through a bean bag and all of those static beads were everywhere. It was such a mess to clean up, lol.

Purple Dawn October 16, 2019

Well, that could have been worse with the pup! I've seen some wild pics of what they can do left unattended! I'm sorry I chuckled.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.