Time and Activities in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Oct. 8, 2019, 4:38 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Yesterday in therapy I mentioned that I like getting homework assigned in between sessions. I told her that sometimes she assigns it but other times she doesn’t and its the times she assigns it that I feel like I’m actually working on things. Otherwise I just feel like I’m coming in and talking about things, but not practicing how to fix/work on things. She said I was one of few who actually likes homework but gave me assignments and told me to be careful what I wish for lol.

One assignment is just a daily mood tracker - tracking my moods every day and including details like amount of sleep i got, time of month, triggering events, etc. One assignment is to write down all of my thoughts I have when I find myself comparing myself to others and then challenging them (i.e. is what I’m thinking even true? is their situation really better? Would having whatever it is they have really benefit me in my life? if its something I really want, is it something I can achieve and if so what are the steps I need to take in order to get it someday?) And then the other assignment is to continue looking for volunteer opportunities. She mentioned that back in the day she used to volunteer in a nursing home and she was able to bring her dog in to visit the residents. I’m not sure if my dog would be the best fit for that, but the seed has been planted. She mentioned that if I got super desperate with wanting to fill my weekends/weekend evenings, holiday season is approaching and I couldn’t probably find a weekend evening temporary seasonal job pretty easily. And since its not a job I’d be depending on for money, there wouldn’t be performance anxiety or pressure to be the best of the best. I don’t know about that route either, but its something to keep in mind.

I am going to try to force myself into checking out a local running group tomorrow. They do group runs every wednesday night. If I can just get myself there, I will be fine. There’s not much talking involved in the actual running portion, but I need to get myself there and get myself through the introductions portion. I’m telling myself that if it turns out awkward and they aren’t really my crowd the chances of ever running into them again and having them remember me is pretty slim. I kind of want to get back into long-distance running. That would also help fill my weekend time since most 5ks/10ks/half marathons/full marathons are on saturdays and sunday.

I put online dating on hold a few months ago. i reallllllllly want to get my socialization skills up to par where I feel comfortable in in-person social/activity groups where I can maybe actually meet someone in person who enjoys the same things as me (Like meeting another single runner in a runner group) . NOTHING against online dating, but I need to take a break from it. I can always return to it later.

Anywho, i wrote this entry mostly to get my thoughts in order and to take a break from working. Happy Tuesday, y’all.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.