"Can you see it?" in LOL

  • Oct. 6, 2019, 8:33 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I was that fucking stressed out at work yesterday that I asked a blind woman if she see something whereabouts that I was trying to find for her.
Yup.
I got to work to find out that I was rostered on alone (guy who’s usually on couldn’t work and the new guy cancelled lolz) and I was trying to do one of a bazillion express-orders I had for the day when I was in the produce department and of course that’s always the perfect time for a customer to ask for help - when I’m in a department I have no idea about and none of that department’s staff are anywhere to be seen AND I’m on a time-limit to grab said express-order… ^rolls eyes out of head^
This woman was in an electric vehicle AND had a guide-dog by her side. She wanted a bunch of stuff I had little idea about and my head was a fucking mess, so when I asked if she could see it, it didn’t even occur to me how fucking stupid the question was, until she replied with, “I’m blind darlin’, that’s why I have a guide dog. If I could see it that would be a miracle.”
^sinks into ground in shame^

I suppose she coulda been a lot worse about it, and she’s probably even written a letter, but fuck man, I’m only human trying to do the work of three or four people. Anyway, I managed to help her. Of course I wondered how the guide dog helps her steer her buggy thing that she was driving around the store, but hey, I don’t ask the real questions, just the stupid ones.

Anyway. Fuck.

The manager on for the day saw how stressed I was whilst I was restocking the milk fridge - we have 30 crates of milk to clear out by October 10th and he thought marking them down by 25% was going to be enough. I was like, “That ain’t gonna cut it.” - so Snappy-Matt for the win.
He did kindly give me a $50 JB-Hi voucher for all my hard work so that was very nice of him. I have no idea what to buy from JB-Hifi that I’d want though. Maybe hang onto it for when my laptop dies?

I think it’s a public holiday here today but it’s my day off anyway so I’m not really sure what to do. I was gonna go to my cafe but they’ll be charging extra today so might give it a miss. I just need to DO something on my days off cos I feel like I’ve done fuck-all lately.


aussie_powers October 07, 2019

Gifdsy

TL October 07, 2019

I think I got lost in some Aussie slang here. What in the braille is going on? jk. Sorry you had a rough day. I would not have put two and two together like that either lol

KissOfLife! TL ⋅ October 08, 2019

Which part were you lost on?

Swanny October 09, 2019

I don’t ask the real questions, just the stupid ones. I lol'd way too hard at that. Don't worry, we all have those days!

Did you get out? I find the gym is always a good way to get out of the house for cheap on those expensive public holidays.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.