Best Laid Plans ........ in Scottish Meanderings

  • March 8, 2014, 6:20 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Well if ever there was a case for a Kindle I think this is it!

Library books finished, I raked in the bookcase for something decent to read and found Monica Dickens’ autobiography ‘An Open Book’. Well it was tad more open than I expected and resulted in the mess you see above because reading it involved trying to hold about 10 pages at a time before they threatened to cascade all over the bed due to the fact each one I read just came away in my hand when I turned it over!

I’ve had it as long as many of the other books in my bookcase and have only read it a couple of times so goodness knows what’s happened to it but I think it’s finally given up the ghost and is destined for the bin. It seems such sacrilege somehow to throw a book away these days though - especially a good one!

Em ...... could someone tell me where I’m supposed to go??

And so when I locked the cat flap in order to get Willow into the cat basket to take him to the vet that was basically a waste of time then??

{Photo of knackered cat flap but can’t find it on pc}

I’m surprised he’s got any head left ......

I ended up having to take the door off altogether so am keeping my fingers crossed the weather isn’t awful until Sunday when I can get another one!

My first busy week disintegrated in a haze of stomach bug eruptions of which I’ll spare you the gory details. Lily had it last week and I babysat her on Thursday and Friday because she couldn’t go to nursery. On Saturday I was fine which was just as well as I had a night out in the evening - Sunday was an entirely different story though and before you start tutting, no alcohol passed my lips the previous evening in the slightest so it definitely wasn’t that. I had to try and catch up with housework as much as I could before college on the Monday though so I plodded on doing everything in Very Slow Motion then dragged myself into town the next day feeling like death warmed up.

I lasted out until 2.30 then had to go home. Unfortunately the course wasn’t quite as wonderful as it was hyped up to be and couldn’t quite penetrate the extreme nausea otherwise I might have been distracted enough but I’m glad I made the effort to get there on the first day nevertheless.

Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday were spent feeling very sorry for myself and wishing there was another pair of hands to help out or just let me be ill. This is one of the downsides of living on your own - although great most of the time it does mean you’re Chief Cook, Kitchenmaid and Bottlewasher and sometimes that gets wearing. I also steeped myself in guilt and irritation through not being able to do what I’d planned - work’s really busy and there was a committee meeting on the Wednesday night which I might have dragged myself to had I not been awake the WHOLE of the previous night - I knew it would have helped them a lot to have someone take minutes. Nikki was also ill with a virus the whole week and needed me to help out with Lily but there was just no way and of course missing a day of college was annoying because it’s such a short course so a lot is covered each day.

Women are so good at guilt aren’t we?

It didn’t help that Willow had something dreadful going on with his backside, bits of which he kept depositing all over the house, Trooper had diarrhoea 2 nights running involving me getting up at stupid o’clock to let him out and my bedside light blew a fuse one night resulting in a mad dash to Homebase with 10 minutes to spare before they closed to get a new one.

Choosing one took 2 minutes - trying to find out which kind of bulb it took a total of 8 minutes and 4 shop assistants. Seriously.

Hopefully next week will be a calmer one all round.


Last updated March 29, 2018


NorthernSeeker March 08, 2014

You and all your critters have had a bad case of stomache flu...or something.

I laugh at the cats on your bed. They definitely haven't saved any space for you, the bums.

Marg NorthernSeeker ⋅ March 09, 2014

I can see me having to buy a double bed just to get in! :)

edna million March 08, 2014

Sorry about all the illness!!! It didn't miss anyone, did it??

I have several books like that- one is a paperback copy of Gone With The Wind that I've had since high school. It's held together with a big rubber band. I could never throw it out, even though I really should. I've also got a Mark Bittman cookbook that's all to pieces like that (a wonderful cookbook, but apparently very cheaply made since it started falling apart not long after I got it), ALSO held together with rubber bands. That one I really do need to ditch and buy a better copy- it does not have sentimental value and is really annoying when all the pages fall out.

edna million March 08, 2014

I LOOOOVE my Kindle - I was shocked at how fast I got used to it, and now I don't know what I did without it. Of course it will never replace a real live book, but it sure is handy. The Kindle app is great on the iPad too - better for some things than my regular Kindle, which is an older non-touchscreen black and white one. Oh, and you can also install the Kindle app on your iPhone. I thought it would be impossible to read books on the iPhone, and was amazed at how well it works. Technology is just so cool-

edna million March 08, 2014

That picture of the cats is fantastic!

jamez March 21, 2014

The Kindle had a wonderful screen for reading, and on average I charge the kindle once a month, and books I buy arrive on my kindle with in a minute! I think that’s enough about the ‘K’

Marg jamez ⋅ March 22, 2014

I gave it a try on my iPad and must admit it worked okay - felt funny but presume I'll get used to it like everything else!

jamez March 22, 2014

The screen on a pad is made to handle colour and video, the screens in reader devices are prepuces made for reading text, images are ok but I wouldn’t buy an art book rich with paintings or photography for a Kindle, a ipad would be better for those; books for reading are better on a screen made for printed words; where those wonderful images pop up in our word driven imagination …

edna million March 22, 2014

jamez is absolutely right -- for just reading text, an actual Kindle is best- they are easy on the eyes, unlike computer or ipad screens. I don't know if Kindle Fires are made like the original ones, with the "paper white" background, or whatever it's called, though. Mine is several years old and is kind of a light grey background with the same typeset you see in books. I was amazed at how much I love it and how easy it is to read on.

Although I have to say, I gasped in horror at InMyLife's note about contemplating getting rid of her real books!! I'd never ever do that.

The iPad is WONDERFUL for things like travel guides - I bought several last year on my iPad and they were so cool- they're interactive so you can jump around easily and bookmark things. And they weigh nothing, unlike book travel guides! Which I also bought several of. Because you seriously cannot replace a book.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.