Our Healthcare Is Horrible in Random Public Stuffs

  • Sept. 30, 2019, 4 a.m.
  • |
  • Public

Living on the rez, everything is poor. People think, “Free healthcare and education, you’re lucky!”

You get what you pay for.

The damn council took over management of our hospital and fucked it up even worse than it already was.

I had to flip the fuck out before my Mama got better treatment. Why does one have to mention the media before shit gets done? In a perfect world, my Mama would get better “care” than what she is currently getting.

She’s had some really bad pain lately and she’s tough. So when I wake up to her sobbing, I know it’s bad. My Mama is allergic to ibuprofen and tramadol. They keep telling her to take those. The only thing that really works for her is hydrocodone. Only one high med works, but she hates it: Dilaudid. She refuses it. She doesn’t go for morphine or oxycodone. She just needs the hydros. It pisses me off when the doc thinks she’s drug-seeking. (They rotate in and out. We don’t keep docs for long.) Its the same song and dance.

The best she can get now is Tylenol-3. She would have to be in a major car wreck or a Stage-4 cancer patient before she got anything stronger.

She’s not going in every fucking night. She isn’t escalating doses. She isn’t asking for stronger meds.

(Rubs temples.)

But I know people all over the nation suffer just like my Mama does.

Its pisses me off.

And it breaks my heart.


WildflowerHeart September 30, 2019

healthcare is so damn greedy in so many ways. honestly I think once you get off the ambulance you've left providers who actually give a shit about your life most of the time. =(

Shattered October 01, 2019

:(

I’m so sorry.

Small Town Girl October 04, 2019

Sickening indeed. They withhold it from those who truly need it, but the addicts have no problem getting it prescribed. Such an incredibly broken system.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.