That girl stuff in Bittersweet

  • Sept. 7, 2019, 3:06 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

I saw a second opinion doctor on my thyroid yesterday. She concluded that 50 mg of synthroid and 5 mg of another more fast acting medication. She like the previous doctor said armour isnt a option for my particular case.
She also took about 6 vials of blood. Shes looking for markers of other autoimmune disorders. She also stressed that medication will help, but NOTHING cures autoimmune. My antibodies may go down as the thyroid medication takes the burden off my thyroid and can possibly lengthen the amount of time my thyroid has left before it dies. But nothing is going to stop the degeneration. Its always going to be a battle with my body vs my thyroid.

She also made another suggestion for something else. She suggested that with my iron levels as low as they are, and my monthly periods being as terrible as they are ( up to two weeks long) that i have a uterine ablation. Its not for people who want more kids. I dont want any more kids. 5 is enough! She said radio waves are used to zap the lining of the uterus making it so that the lining cant build up. Which would likely stop my periods entirely. It may be the cure and fix ive been dreaming of for my period issues.
however it may come with a cost. If i do this. I may not be able to leave in 5 weeks like we plan… It depends on when the referral doctor calls me for an appointment… It may be something i have to wait to do till i get medical down south? Im not entirely sure.... But we will see. Depends if they will do it in the 5 weeks i have and be able to have a follow up they may require? I would need to be in the hospital medicated so the anxiety dosent kill me.
Either way. im not sure if it can happen. But maybe i can wait till i get down there too. I mean ive dealt with it this long right..


Jinn September 07, 2019

Doctors are pretty clueless about most autoimmune illnesses and thyroid often. Mine always runs in the low but normal range and they say it’s fine . However when I read about it the information states low normal can still give you sluggishness , fatigue, low body temperature, hypotension, weight gain , dry skin and thinning of your hair. I have all that . I thought about taking Iodine supplements on my own but decided against that. I just have learned to live with it .
That ablation does sound like a solution but it does complicate moving .

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ September 07, 2019

Try solinium for thyroid support. Iron as well.

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ September 07, 2019

I am taking iron but I will
Check into Solinium. Thanks !

ChainedChrysalis Jinn ⋅ September 08, 2019

Maybe it will help!

Jinn ChainedChrysalis ⋅ September 08, 2019

Here is hoping :-)

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.