Plot twist thickens! in 2019 Amazing Stories!

  • Sept. 4, 2019, 3:54 p.m.
  • |
  • Public

Guys, my life is so strange!

I’m either extremely paranoid or extremely intuitive. Yesterday my boss was a mess all day long over M being out due to his alleged skull fracture/concussion. M said he would be back in the office on Friday, but Bossman was acting as if it will be WEEKS until we see him again because “all of his doctor friends” say this, that and the other thing. At one point, I snapped and was like “You do remember he’ll be here in a few days right?” And he snapped back “I’m going to tell him he can’t come in!”

His reaction was completely unproportionate to what we were told. I’m wondering if M is actually on a strike for a raise himself.

Then I got to thinking “well if K got laid off due to them moving his position to New Mexico and they already have someone hired....there’s a chance there’s a copy of the job posting still online somewhere. So I did the most basic Google search ever: Company Name with the word Accounting following. YOU GUYS! I found all of our jobs on Indeed! And they are for positions at our New Mexico program office! Here’s mine:

Responsibility level
o Exercises independent judgment with direction from supervisor
o May have supervisory role

Skills
o Verbal and written communication skills, attention to detail, and critical thinking (Required)
o Ability to work independently and manage one’s time (Required)
o Ability to apply accounting and mathematical principles to work as needed (Required)
o Knowledge of federal, state, and company policies, procedures and regulations as related to accounting (Required)
o Previous experience with computer applications, such as Microsoft Word, Excel and PowerPoint, and any other related accounting software (Required)

Major Job Duties and Responsibilities:
o Classify, record, and summarize numerical and financial data to compile and keep financial records, using journals and ledgers or computers
o Calculate, prepare, and issue bills, invoices, account statements, and other financial statements according to established procedures
o Debit, credit, and total accounts on computer spreadsheets and databases, using specialized accounting software
o Check figures, postings and documents for correct entry, mathematical accuracy, and proper codes

There’s A LOT more I do than that but of course they have no idea everything that I do and I’m guessing our HR manager wrote this and only has a vague understanding of the accounting department’s roles.

So head injury or not, I texted M last night and asked him if there was anything weird going on because Bossman is acting like we won’t see him for weeks and if he still planned on being back Friday. I was really hoping to get some “inside” info. He played the “I know nothing” card and said “oh idk probably just Bossman being Bossman.” He didn’t address Friday at all. Not the response I wanted.

I was literally unable to fall asleep until about 3 this morning. At 7:30 this morning I texted Bossman, M, and A that I had to take my cat to the emergency vet last night because she started seizuring (actually happened with another cat I had in the past) and that I needed to stay home and monitor her today and follow up with her regular vet this afternoon. BECAUSE SOMETHING SMELLS FISHY AS FUCK and I can’t function properly. I don’t plan on going in tomorrow either. I do plan on going back Friday though when M is supposed to be back.

I have the PTO so that part isn’t a concern. The accounting department job postings at our NM program office is a wee bit concerning.


This entry only accepts private comments.

No comments.

You must be logged in to comment. Please sign in or join Prosebox to leave a comment.